RSS Feed

Daily Archives: November 9, 2012

Look what I found at my local newsagent’s…

From the moment The Hobbit edition of Empire magazine  was out, they’ve been causing a storm.

I decided that if they have the Thorin edition at my local newsagent’s I’ll have to believe it’s fate and buy it, despite my apprehension to spend money on the dwarves before I see the film.

I figured that the universe would want me to have it and maybe I should stick the magazine in my handbag when I travel to London, on the off-chance I might get a cast autograph or *hyperventilating* Mr Armitage himself.

I strut to my local Empik store, knowing full well that they only have one copy left.

I walked over to the film section and found Empire.

Gollum is on the 3D lenticular cover!

I bet that’s not what you expected me to say, but that’s how it was!

I really was hoping the beautiful image of Thorin in blue would catch my eye and make me smile.

The bottom line is that as much as I’m very lucky in some areas of my life, I wouldn’t see myself as someone who’d bump into Richard Armitage at the airport, or be fortunate enough to get an autograph.

He won’t be filming on a set close to my home.

I won’t be attending theatre events or premieres where I could rub elbows with celebs.

Before you start pitying me, let me assure you of one thing.

There a level of freedom in knowing full well that amazing things like that will never happen.

I probably won’t get a pic of Armitage with his arm around my shoulders, nor will I ever get a chance to ask him to sign a photo.

Knowing this simple truth allows me to enjoy the things that are attainable, like meeting fellow Armitage fans and getting a buzz from seeing The Hobbit together with them.

I may never meet Richard Armitage, but I’ll experience something just as exciting, meaning I’ll be sharing my admiration for my favorite actor with other fans in RL.

Richard Armitage seems to be aloof in my life of late.

 I haven’t seen any RA in Warsaw yet.

The official Polish poster and the new book edition both feature either Gandalf or Bilbo on the cover.

I want a huge billboard with moody Thorin glaring right at me when I drive on my way to work.

Am I asking too much?