RSS Feed

On doing some Crucibling* with Armitage in July! (*not a real word)

Posted on

Armitage The Crucible

Wow! Is this a hot time to be an Armitage Admirer or what!

I must admit I’ve been keeping a lukewarm finger on the RA pulse as I focus my attention on RL stuff, but good friends have kept me in the loop and made sure I knew the basic comings and goings, for which I am grateful.

After a period of “what the hell’s up Armitage?” and me moaning constantly that I demand good news,  it seems Richard has got his funky booty into gear and is spoiling us rotten!

Talk about watching a kettle boil, if only I had known it’d start raining Armitage projects the moment I step away for a while, I would have taken my sabbatical sooner😉

What a time to be an Armitage Admirer and what a wonderful surprise at the Old Vic!

I hardly dared to dream Richard would sign up for a play in London (would have bet all my money on New York… and lost…).

ffdfb0a4f0c355222c8c14b151160c00

The fact that it’s at the Old Vic makes it extra special.

When I flew in to London in December 2012 to see The Hobbit: AUJ we stayed at a hotel just down the street from the theatre.

Each time we passed I’d have the sudden impulse to drop on all fours and search the ground for imprints left by Armitage footsteps walk around the entrance breathing in the air, knowing it was where Richard had taken part in The 24 Hours Play.

Here I am, over a year later with my very own Willy Wonka winning tickets🙂

The fact that it’s a Arthur Miller play is just icing on the AgzyM cake.

I have a thing for both Miller and the McCarthy period, so I plan on researching the heck out of the material, especially seeing as I probably won’t be coherent enough to actually go beyond the “OMG, that’s Richard Armitage standing there!” mode during the performance.

Although the announcement that Armitage had signed up for the project couldn’t have come at a more inconvenient time (seriously, a heads-up, Richard!) and technically, I couldn’t afford to go, the fangirl inside of me was screaming that I could afford not to go!

So, after calculating, deliberating, concocting cunning plans that would make  Wile. E Coyote green with envy, and trying to explain to my nearest and dearest that missing out was not an option for this fangirl, here I am with tickets for the 7th and 8th of July.

223253_2_preview

BTW, if you’re going to the play on the same dates and would like to go for a celebratory drink or even just a Hello fellow Richardette! and a quick “our boy did good!” hug , please let me know, either in comments or via email at iwanttobeapinup [at ] wp.pl🙂

I know of at least one RA fellow admirer *waves at H* who shall be there and I bet that anyone you ask seated in the first 2 rows will either be a fellow “well-wisher” or is accompanying someone who is!

I presume I’ll be boring the heck out of everyone here till July on the topic of The Crucible, but I’ve also been thinking much about fans who see their favorite actor in a theatre (a first for me) and the less than stellar behavior exhibited by die-hard fans during both Hiddleston and Cumberbatch’s performances which apparently ruined it for others.

Let’s leave all that for another day.

Today, I shall bask in the glory of Richard at the Old Vic😉

PS. Hands up who needed to google what “crucible” meant… yup, me too!

See, we’re getting an education while admiring Richard!

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

23 responses »

  1. Enjoy the play I have 3 tickets September 3,6, and 10. No how you feel about wether to go or not. I have changed my travel plans from December to September. I adore the Old Vic and being a Londoner and living in Australia I just could not this chance. Pray to got there are no hitches.

    Reply
    • No hitches all around!!! I’m so happy you were able to change the dates, sometimes they want an arm and a leg (not to mention your first-born) to let you change a thing. I’m so happy you’re flying so far and you’ll have such a lovely triple event to look forward to!
      I’m not sure I’ve changed my London plans from December to July or if I’ve actually added a sneaky trip to my 2014 calender😉

      Reply
  2. Oh, Agzy, you really have such a wonderful way of writing your posts. I miss the daily dose of humour (no pressure. Just a way of expressing my appreciation.)
    Yep, crucibling will be the new fangirl sport. It’s gonna be great, even if RA bombs (haha, just ribbing, of course he won’t), because there is so much more to it than just the play. Enjoy the meet-ups. I expect reports and picture evidence *ggg*. Oh, and I hope that you, as an “early adoptor” will set the standard re. acceptable fangirling in-camera. (I can lend you my tazer.)

    Reply
    • Thanks Honey! Magzy made an interesting comment that my recent posts are more like my good old ones, which probably means I had become wrapped up in other stuff and forgot to simply enjoy the process…
      And if Richard bombs, I will gladly perish in the explosion😉 But no, I think we all know he won’t. He’s going to be amazing, like he has been in every single gritty role he’s been in. The man will be sand paper on stage and he’ll have us feeling raw😉

      Reply
  3. Fortunate One! I envy your stay in London! If you’re interested in the McCarthy period, have you seen “Good Night and Good Luck”? I’m preparing a post on the loveliness of David Strathairn in that film😉

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! It really was a stroke of luck with a dash of fangirl insistence. What warms my heart is how many other friends will also experience RA on stage, the excitement is almost palatable, but I think we are all still trying to keep a stuff upper lip, at least for now. From the people I know Judit is the first person to see RA in late June, so I’m waiting to see what she says.
      Regarding the film, I don’t think I have, so it’s going on my must-see list, so thanks for the rec🙂

      Reply
  4. Lucky you, Agzy to be able to see The Crucible, and it makes me feel “covered” because I know your posts afterwards will be among the most telling and descriptive- one of the ones I am most looking forward to for a critique. I can tell you from when I saw The Proust Screenplay, that despite all, you do get into the work and can enjoy t as a whole notwithstanding his proximity.
    As per Linnet, I also endorse “Good Luck and Good Night,” though if available, I guess you have seen it.

    Reply
  5. Guylty said it best. You have a wonderful way of writing.

    I’m very excited that so many are going to see The Crucible. It’s beyond impossible for me so I plan to live vicariously😉

    Reply
    • Thanks RTreeH🙂
      As someone who has time and time again lived vicariously through other fans experiences, I’ve always found it to be a very exciting and heart-warming event. Having said that, I’m kinda happy to for once be the bride and not the bridesmaid😉

      Reply
  6. I’m so pleased for you Agzy. Like RTreeH, I am looking forward to enjoying it vicariously through you and all the other fans who will get to see him on stage.

    It’s good to see you back.

    Reply
    • I think by the time all those seeing the play report back, everyone will be sick and tired of it😉 (only kidding, there’s never enough Richard!).

      Reply
  7. Really, really happy you’re going!

    Reply
    • 🙂 Me too! Now debts need to be paid off, London dosh needs to be gathered and let it RAin Armitage.
      PS. They are having a Matisse cut-out art exhibition on at the Tate while I am there. London never disappoints when it comes to fab exhibits, no matter when I’m there🙂

      Reply
  8. littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

    Yey! Awesome news! ^-^
    I have tickets for 2nd July… though I not so secretly want to purchase more tickets… hehe!
    Xx

    Reply
    • If I lived in the UK I bet they’d finally have to cut me off at the Old Vic😉 And a huge Yahoooooooo! to us🙂

      Reply
      • littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

        Hehe!
        So the sad news is that the Old Vic aren’t accepting any CVs for work experience… my plan has been thwarted!! ;P

        So excited already! Can’t wait to see our Armi in action… *ahem* on stage😉 I’m so tempted to buy that other ticket now though, so we can go on the same night😉 though if I do reach out and grab his ankle the week before, I might have to wear a disguise… >_> haha!
        Xx

        Reply
  9. Dear Agzy, as an Australian tyrannised by distance and thwarted by outrageous airfares, I am grateful that elegant, witty you will be reporting on RA’s next big comfort-zone- busting adventure!!! OK, yes, *another* John, but we can’t argue with a 20th century classic, can we? You will be in his presence, inhaling the air molecules that once he exhaled, feeling the air vibrate with his magical baritone power, secretly recording him on your phone, perhaps even trying to intercept him as he flees from the stage door into a getaway car. (I did it all in Sydney last year. Well, not the intercepting bit. You can do that.)

    Reply
    • 🙂 true, Australia is a bit far from the Old Vic, but then you are closer to Middle Earth and, let’s face it, you get much better weather than us poor unfortunate souls in Central Europe😉
      I am planning to keep an eye out after the performance to catch a glimpse of Richard and if by any chance my iphone happens to accidentally switch on the camera and start recording, then quickly upload to icloud and magically become available to see by my RA peeps, then what’s a girl to do? PS. Mental note. Maybe I should carry around a small bottle to capture the RA/Old Vic air? I bet it may prove to have some medicinal purposes😉

      Reply
  10. Thrilled for you to have this opportunity to watch our boy perform live. Will you be able to concentrate on anything the other actors say?! I mean you will be in the presence, in the very same room, as he-who-cannot-be-properly-described.
    Also glad you will be crucibling on your blog. I look forward to your posts on the subject. I’ve got to go order the book…

    Reply
  11. Już się cieszę na post ..i na Twoje zdjęcia z Ryśkiem ( w różnych pozycjach..emm..to znaczy pozach😉 ) Powodzenia i baw się dobrze !

    Reply

Have Your Say!

