RSS Feed

Being on pins and needles about The Hobbit

Posted on

cross-stitch1

Hello my lovelies,

I’ve been MIA for the past few days but I have a good excuse.

As some of you know, I’m partial to the odd craft project, but I think I’ve found one that has been consuming most of my free time (not to mention relaxing me into oblivion…).

cross-stitch3

Yes, I seemed to have slipped into middle-age and am passionate about cross-stitching, so don’t you dare judge me!

cross-stitch2

For those who don’t know what the heck that is, I suggest you check out this tutorial that generally talks you through this easy, not to mention inexpensive, hobby.

Seriously, it’s the most fun I’ve had in ages, with or with out my clothes off and I’d prefer you think I was joking because the alternative is a bit disturbing…

It all started so innocently when I decided to cross-stitch some images I could then glue into a ring of brooch.

Then I moved on to larger designs and now I’m consumed by it.

Imagine me with my thread and canvas, with an Armitage audiobook playing in the background.

Sheer bliss🙂

Anyway, you may wonder why I am boring you more than usual and this is the reason:

The Hobbit cross-stitch patterns!

It’s An Unexpected Hobby, the Desolation of Free Time, going There and Back agin with your needle and thread!

Check out this amazing pattern:

hobbitxstitch1

I’ve been honing my skills in the past few days in order to try my hand and this snazzy design.

XStitchMyHeart is selling this amazing pattern of Etsy and I want it my precious!

If that’s not your tumbler of mead, how about this Hobbit design:

il_570xN.499625747_ly0c

Adorable, no?

Both cost around 3GBP and I don’t know which one I want, so I’m afraid I shall end up trying both… oh, just noticed the seller has a sale on- 3 designs for 6GBP😉

If you don’t want to spend a penny on patterns, the internet is a wonderful resource for cross-switchers and  this Hobbit house stitch pattern is no exception:

hobbit_house

It doesn’t come with a colour legend, but then I think that’s what makes this project fun, although the amount of shades is specifies.

And for something a bit more challenging, how about a 28 different DMC color pattern:

hobbitxstitch3

I’m not ready to slay this particular dragon, I’ll let it sleep deep in my hobby layer…

As I relax with my thread and Richard’s soothing voice, I hope you have a wonderful day too!

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

25 responses »

  1. Excuse me, young lady! What’s this middle-age nonsense? I used to do cross-stitch years ago when I was first married, and completed a beautiful sampler which took hours upon hours, but was very rewarding. It’s framed, and hanging on the wall right near where I’m sitting, and because it incorporates the date I made it, I can tell you I finished it in 1988!! (And haven’t done one since)
    I loved every minute of it, but then children came along, and for some reason I never went back to cross-stitching. I love the first Hobbit one, where they’re all standing in a row. Let us know how you go, whichever you choose- love to see more photos.

    Reply
    • LOL! I find the being middle-aged has little to do with actual age. As I sit here feeling like Hannah Thornton sewing John’s initials, I bet there are people twice my age bungee-jumping😉
      I think I shall get the first pattern and take advantage of the offer. I will keep you posted. BTW, you should try going back to cross-stitching. There are so many beautiful patterns online I can hardly resist them. I’m finishing the heart tree and I already have my own little heart set a number of designs🙂

      Reply
  2. Ha, I *knew* that you were embroiled in some craft project (check your e-mail *ggg*).
    I think I was roughly your age when I re-discovered cross-stitching after having learnt it in school. Mad frenzy alright – I made samplers, pictures, cards, decorated towels (yeah, I know), napkins, table cloths. Luckily I escaped unscathed, so there is hope for you yet😛
    BTW, did you know there are sites where you can convert a photo into a cross-stitch pattern? Here: http://www.myphotostitch.com/ Of course, I want a crotch-stitch Thorin – ooops, cross stitch I meant. Here: http://i61.tinypic.com/91dl09.png

    Reply
    • LOL! I want to crotch-stitch Thorin too, but I don’t know if I have enough thread😉 Yes, I’ve been holed up with my audiobooks, letting the stress of the day melt away. BTW, you should be ashamed of yourself for linking to that cross-stitch maker- you know not what you’ve done!!!😉

      Reply
  3. I cross stitched my junior and senior years of college, sometimes in class no less. Found it to be very soothing and relaxing. Just the feel of the thread and the fabric and counting. Probably have a bunch of projects partially completed. I need a Thornton pattern. Sigh.

    Reply
  4. The first and the last time I engaged in cross-stitching was at the age of 9-10… Grandma gave up on me soon. So the middle-aged argument doesn’t apply. Combined with RA’s audiobooks it sounds very relaxing.. And the Hobbit patterns are extremely tempting!!

    Reply
    • I remember trying cross-stitching as a child, many children were obligated to complete a pattern at school, so I know many now have an aversion towards it which is a shame.

      Reply
      • I remember it too.😉 But I can’t blame school or Grandma, I’m simply not crafty. Although Bag End and the Company make my fingers itch a little…

        Reply
        • This is why enjoy cross-stitching so much. I’m not very detailed and I’m on of those people who will just add “more” when I mess something up. More glue, more glitter, more thread. You can’t get away with that here, so I’m forced to actually focus and pay attention.
          I’ve just finished my heart tree and my fingers are itching too, but I want to get more practice before I venture out to Middle Earth with my needle and thread😉

          Reply
  5. I started cross-stitching when I was around 17 years old. It’s fun to do and allows me to unwind. I need to finish Stitchin’ Richard!! The third page is almost complete, then one partial page to go. I love listening to Lords of the North while I am stitching – it makes time pass quickly and my needle seems to fly!!! 😀

    Reply
  6. Ślicznie Agzym! Czy cross-stich i wyszywanie na kanwie to to samo? 3 ciąże i jeden bardzo długi pobyt w szpitalu mojej Mamy zaowocowały wieloma dużymi obrazami w naszym domu. Wszystkie zasłony,zazdrostki i obrusy ..moje spódniczki , bluzki , chusteczki itd..zawsze ręcznie ozdabiane:) Dzieki Mamie nawet w czasach żelaznej kurtyny wyglądałam inaczej ku niezadowoleniu niektórych koleżanek i paru nauczycielek z podstawówki. Jak ona to robiła pracując zawodowo? ( brak internetu?😉 )

    Reply
  7. I find it really relaxing too except for the parts where you have to concentrate, lol🙂 I love the picture of you stitching your evening away to relax. Keep it up!

    Reply

Have Your Say!

