RSS Feed

Get ready for extreme audio pleasure, Armitage is at it again!

Posted on

I wasn’t going to post today and have been working on my crafty projects, but I’m doing my happy dance and

I’m so excited,

I just can’t hide it,

I’m about to lose control and I think I like it

Oh yeah!!!

319f01cfaf0e5fdbee94f1a4bfd08c8a

As most of you know already, Richard will be recording the audio edition of Hamlet, a Novel by A.J. Hartley and David Hewson.

Now, you may be sitting there thinking: OK, good news that Richard is doing something new, but an audiobook? really? what’s the big deal?

 If you are one of those people, that tells me you haven’t actually listened to any of Richard’s audiobook because holy ear orgasm!

Even though Armitage plays a plethora of characters, male, female, old and young, you get lost in the moment and forget it’s one person stuck behind a microphone.

I’m not too bothered (yet) what Richard is recording, be it Hamlet or Jill’s Gymkhana but I have a feeling Shakespeare is going to be our homeboy from now on😉

befunky_crossprocess_1

My absolute favorite among Armitage audiobooks (and all of them are great, so that’s saying a lot) is Lords of the North which I have written about before, and before that too.

I’ll just say that mid-way I was sobbing when something particularly horrible happened to the protagonist, but then at times I’d laugh out loud too, just to balance things out.

The CD’s  (12 hours of them) are hard to come by, but RANet is running a competition where you have the chance to get your hands on the whole set (thanks Miriam!).

Check out the first few chapters and even more audiobook extracts at RAnet.

Anyway, bring it on Armitage!

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

20 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    If you don’t own LOTN, here — amidst the general euphoria over a new Armitage project — you find a link to a contest to win a copy.

    Reply
  2. I’m sure it would be very entertaining to hear him read Jill’s Gymkhana, but this is no doubt a better choice. And yeah — SO glad to hear about a new project.

    Reply
    • Well, I wasn’t going to say anything, but I would have preferred Jill’s Gymkhana (now, you turn around and say Snap!).🙂
      It’s a good day, I think I shall have to dust off a story of a certain sexy Bebbanburg fellow to celebrate!

      Reply
      • well, I have to admit that Jill’s Gymkhana is wizard!🙂

        Reply
        • It is wizard! Also, these girls were trend setters as the expression came long before Harry Potter. They also pegged the terms: “you’re so jel”. See, trend setters and now I really regret that Armitage is recording that dusty old thing😉

          Reply
  3. I hope he does read Jill’s Gymkhana one day, one can only dream, but until then we have Hamlet to look forward to🙂

    and for those that are saying they swore off Shakespeare when they where kids or teenagers, give it another chance. After all, we all grow and evolve with time, and this will be an “adaptation” of Hamlet in any case🙂

    Reply
    • Oh, I tend to give Shakespeare, adapted or otherwise, quite a few chances😉 But seriously though, I’m happy the new project is so posh, it’ll be like Educating Rita😉

      Reply
    • that’s a frequent reaction to things one reads in school, but Shakespeare’s rep is solid, he can take it🙂

      Reply
  4. What brilliant news on this lovely Sunday! Finally a new project that we will be able to enjoy in quite a short time – 20th of May is not too far away. And I am oh so glad Mr. Tennant and Mr. Dinklage had not time to participate in this project (if this is true), so it will be Mr. A. pampering us with what will be most likely a pleasant treat for the ears. A Novel based on Hamlet, transferred into modern time language sounds just quite right for me.
    I am a complete sucker for the audio books of Richard Armitage and cannot praise them high enough. I even wormed my way through 9 hours of documentation about HMS Arch Royal – and I am really not into military stuff. But Discovey channel knows how to make a worthwhile documentation, and a narrator as skilled as Mr. Armitage is the icing on the cake.
    Whoever has not heard LOTN is missing something and I pity them. It couldn’t be done better, even if these martial plots are not entirely yours you should give it a go. And there are copies available that are actually not that expensive. It is worth the time to wait them to be delivered around the globe all the way from Australia. http://www.ebay.at/itm/151238907475?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

    Reply
    • me 2 re the HMS Arch Royal — I didn’t care about the topic at all but listening to Armitage pronounce all that naval jargon, OMG. Swoon.

      Reply
      • I am watching this Discovery project now. Whilst not into military stuff The Ark is near to my heart as my. Nephew was on board for this deployment. Also my Uncle his grandad served on it. And to top it off I have Richard Armitage as The Narrator. A new audio book as well Perfect.

        Reply
  5. Wow, fantastic news, I didn´t know that.
    LOTN is still my favourite audiobook, like the Heyer-series too, stammering Horatia and the old ladies are great, but I always loved Bernard Cornwell as an author. I melt avery every time Uhtred pronounces “Gisela” (imagining how he would pronounce my second name “Gertrud”🙂 ).
    So, this time the Hamlet novel and maybe next time Jill´s Gymkhana (projects to dream about).
    Thanks Agzy, now I´m very curious to read your posts about LOTN.

    Reply
  6. Bardzo sie cieszę🙂 Umieram z ciekawości jak też Rysiek zinterpretuje wszystkie te postaci.
    Lubię audiobooki Ryśka… nie ma to jak nauka języków😉
    Z takich nieRyśkowych uwielbiam ” Moskwę Pietuszki ” Jerofiejewa w interpretacji Romana Wilhelmiego.

    Reply
  7. I’m happy to have Richard doing more audio work and Hamlet is just fine. Lets face it we’d listen to him read the phone book. What I really want is for him to do recordings of the rest of the books around Lords of the North. I mean I simply can’t listen to the original narrator now that I’ve heard Lords of the North with Richard. It is good that Richard is doing audio though because it adds to his resume and gives him more work while he is still trying to decide what he is going to do next in movies or TV.

    Reply
  8. Thanks to I.f. for sending the link for a copy of LOTN at eBay in Australia. I’ve just purchased it for a very reasonable price and free postage!

    Reply
    • 🙂
      Glad I could be of assistance. I have bought several copies of this book over the last few months as I think it is the most precious gift for a fellow RAdmirer. The guys on ebay announced the unabridged version with Jamie Glover (who did the abridged Version) as narrator. But when I got in touch with them to check if they are really correct on this, they changed their mistake and I am pretty sure they made some sales right after that. They were extremly kind and helpful, and all deliveries had been correct and reliable so far.

      Reply
  9. RA długo kazał nam czekać a jakiekolwiek wieści o jego nowym projekcie. Już nie mogę się doczekać aby usłyszeć co tam RA zdziała🙂

    Reply
  10. Thanks for linking to my competition and to the audio extracts🙂

    Reply

Have Your Say!

