RSS Feed

Feeling Crafty: Armitage Army Steampunk Card

Posted on

Armitage Army card 2

I was feeling crafty today.

OK, not enough to actually finish the projects I had abandoned, but I needed something quick, easy and fun.

A while back I had come across this post at Epbot which involved metal tape (aluminum foil tape to be precise), black acrylic paint and plenty of beating and bashing.

Steampunk-licious? Sign me up!

Every so often I send out a card to my fellow Armitage Admirer as way of thanks for something tasty I received from them, but I always struggle to come up with a funky design, or I’m out of cardboard to print it on and so on, so I needed a fun card that was quick to make and purdy ๐Ÿ˜‰

1

The biggest challenge was to find that aluminum foil tape.

After checking out some hardware shops (I know, it was scary…) it turned out that it’s used for fireplace isolation stuff, so you should find it in that section.

I also bought “drywall seam tape” which is a fancy name for adhesive mesh thingy and some foam letter stickers so I could lovingly create the “Armitage Army” sign.

2

Once I stuck the letters on, I started adding the seam tape and then covered the whole area with the aluminum tape.

The process was OK, word of advice though:

I felt the letters I had used were a bit too small, therefore when I started to push the tape down to make them more visible the tape punctured in a few places.

Maybe had they been a bit bigger, it would have been easier to really get into all the nooks and crannies and they would have been clearer (“m” was particularly challenging…).

I also think you should avoid having tape seams on the letters.

ย Armitage Army card

Having said that, the black acrylic paint luckily covered any rips and I did make my card plenty grimy!

I should add that I wasn’t using any professional tools, I was free-styling with the rivet holes and such, so maybe if I had a clay tool, it would have been easier.

Anyway, now I’m thinking about what else I could do:

cards? notebook covers? an image to stick in a frame and hang on the wall?

Have a wonderful day ๐Ÿ™‚

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

26 responses »

    • It’s pretty fun to do, although with bigger letters. Or maybe a steampunked Valentine’s Day card. Shame I already sent mine out for friends and won’t be handing out any in person ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply
  1. That’s so cool! I’m a big fan of the Steampunk aesthetic, thanks for the tutorial!

    Reply
  2. How cool is that???!!! That looks brilliant, Agzy! Gritty, grimy, very John Porter ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  3. As a steampunk jewelry maker, all you need now is to get some gears, a clock face and a key or two to make it real steam punk. Will put a package together and send it to you. Look for them in your mail. I have a ton real stuff. xoxoxo

    Reply
    • Unfortunately the place where I usually get my crafty stuff doesn’t have gears, although I bet that would look ace ๐Ÿ™‚ I was also wondering whether there’s a tape that’s bronze coloured. That would be very steampunky. You can add “rust” to this design, but my paint was a little too pearly, so I decided against it.
      BTW, do you read steampunk books?

      Reply
      • Absolutely. I also wear it, have the top hat, goggles, and jewelry, cane, and clothes.

        Reply
        • I remember using a lot of steampink elements in my designs without even knowing what it is. You can’t beat a good pair of goggles ๐Ÿ˜‰
          Any books recs? I’ve read Gail Carriger, Cherie Priest, The Night Circus and such. Anything you can think of that’s a must read?

          Reply
          • Must reads– Anything by Calista Taylor! She has a series Viridis. The first book is free from Amazon. You’ll love it! Lindsay Buroker — Her series Flash Gold. The first book is free from Amazon. Shelley Adina series Lady of Devices –1st book free from Amazon. I like that I can read the first book free. If I don’t like it I’m not out any money. Try going to Amazon and type in “Steampunk Books, they have a lot of them!

          • I’ll check Taylor out. I have dozens of ebooks stored away for when their time comes, but I love me a good rec so I’ll check out Taylor. All the steampunk books I’ve read so far involve a strong feisty female protagonist with charms and a kicka$$ attitude and I think that’s what I enjoy most about the genre. Talk about Girl/Woman Power!

  4. Very impressive. This would be a great badge to wear to the next fan event…paired with the yellow rose in your hair for JT and the softbeard for Thorin. He couldn’t possibly overlook a contingent like that!

    Reply
    • LOL, and you know you’ve encountered a fellow admirer when they can decipher the design ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was actually thinking of maybe fiddling with the concept with jewellery. I’ll keep you posted ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  5. I would definitely buy this if you were selling them- LOVE IT!!

    Reply
  6. Szczena opada ๐Ÿ˜€ To ล›wietne Agzym !

    Reply
  7. That’s awesome! I love it!

    Reply
  8. That’s a fantastic card, I love it ! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Armitage Weekly Round-Up Week 7 | I Want to be a Pin Up

Have Your Say!

