RSS Feed

Armitage Weekly Round-Up Week 5

Posted on

armitage 5

Welcome to another week of RA/Hobbit/OT post round-up.

This list is by no means exhaustive, so please add any links in comments I may have accidentally omitted.

Once again it’s quite long (the list, not Richard’s…. oh, never mind…), but I’ve tried to include posts from RA blogs for those who don’t do the rounds daily, as well as a few surprises for those who keep their finger on the Armitage pulse.

Guylty armitage weekly round-uppink tumblr

As always, you can find the Tumblr Round-Up for week 5 lovingly brought to you by Guylty.

the arkenstone 1 weekly woun-up fanfiction

Arkenstone has taken care of the Fanfiction Weekly Round-Up, so you’ll have plenty to do to combat the cold.

John-Thornton-Fan-Art-john-thornton-34608344-245-148

Thornton Thursday started off with a bang with a guest post by author Trudy Brasure.

She continued her North and South musings on Friday and I hope you did better than me at the N&S quiz…

InConsequenceSmall

Trudy’s new book In Consequence is up for grabs, so make sure you leave comments on either posts for the chance to get your hands on this yummy N&S retelling (giveaway ends on Thursday).

valentine-we-want-you

Talking of wonderful ideas, Guylty, Ms *Ooof* herself, was brainstorming how we should celebrate Valentine’s Day Armitage Style, and the people have spoken, so make sure you sign up!

Valentine’s Day is the day of luuuuuuv, so have you spReAd any Armitage love recently?

And spReAd it some more!

Sherlock Series 3

There’s been quite an uproar in the BBC Sherlock fandom of late and has sent ripples throughout other fandoms.

(link removed by request of blogger) and here’s another post on the topic.

EDIT: Just in case this requires clarification, any comments that I write below are not in any way, shape or form a comment on the posts I have linked to above, but rather very loose thoughts on Abbington’s comments made on the issue of Johnlock and fan art.

I may actually grow a pair in the next few days and write about how, although Abbington has a right to her opinion, I have to disagree with what was said and how it was phrased (and luckily I get to have an opinion too).

In a nutshell this is why I can’t stand by and witness people policing others with regards to their preferences and likes, be it slash fiction, RPF or anything else.

Shades of grey...

tumblr_n07xp9DtQI1qbmgeto4_500

RA/Hobbit/OT posts

Mary Mary, quite contrary, what does Richard feel like?

Perry is out with the old and onto the new

OT: Any advice for a fellow Tolkien fan and budding writer?

KatherineD crushes my Poldark dreams with logic (crushes I tell you!)

Whatever happened to the original Poldark?

Harry Kennedy has been in touch and has all the gossip from Dibley

I guess the folks at Wallsauce didn’t want to leave Thorin hanging

This is one way to stay warm! Now get over here Richard, my furnace with thunder thighs!

Bilbo’s Door is going along nicely, thank you very much!

Armitage and the cutting room floor. I hope someone sweeps this stuff up and delights us.

tumblr_n09fpbFlCb1t6ngbpo1_r1_250

Sweet Armitage dream or  beautiful nightmare?

This Smaug the dragon certainly shouldn’t be breathing fire!

Zan serves up some Armitage profile (for breakfast or dinner, depending where you are, it’s yummy nonetheless)

There will never come a day when I won’t link to an Armitage bum post! You have my personal guarantee😉

Musings on The Sassy Elf King and his messed up face

Would you like to live in a hole in the ground?

The Swiss chalet jumper just doesn’t want to go away!

Very cute Hobbit avatars, slightly reminiscent of Anime Thorin, me thinks…

MarieAstra asks what the norm for fans is

On Grumpy Armitage. I agree, it’s attractive. Why?

OT: Joining a fandom (a story told in gifs)- disturbingly accurate!

Let’s hope Pinter/Proust wasn’t Richard’s Stage Swann song

Weta Workshop’s The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Chronicles-Art & Design looks very interesting

tumblr_n08uraohSf1s9vzloo6_400

I hope you enjoyed this round-up!

Don’t forget to check out Arkenstone’s Fanfiction round-up and  Guylty’s Tumblr round-up.

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

22 responses »

  1. Thanks for the round-up Agzy, and my humble apologies for pouring cold water on your Poldark dreams. Who knows, maybe the writers have refashioned the story into a May- September romance! I look forward to reading your thoughts on Amanda Abbington and the Sherlock fandom.

    Reply
    • I think if Poldark was getting the Armitage treatment we’d hear about it already. May-September isn’t as shocking based on our twisted standards as long as May is the woman and September is a man like Richard, but I agree with you, it’s unlikely.
      Regarding Abbington, I’m venting internally and letting go of bitchy comments and thoughts now so that I can try to be impartial when I write the post…

      Reply
      • It’s a pretty emotive issue, but be as candid as you need to be. I think we all need to hear the differing views.

        Reply
        • I know. The coward in me wishes someone else would write the post and give a different view and I could just agree in comments😉
          No, it will be written. Carefully, slowly, so I have time to build a bunker and stock up on a sack of rice and 20 l. of water😉

          Reply
          • Feel free to run it by me beforehand if you want a second opinion before posting it.

          • Thanks so much Kathrine, I may take you up on that🙂

          • I have to say this a topic I have such mixed feelings about. I feel for Amanda Abbington and all the individuals whose likenesses are depicted in sexually explicit fanart if it makes them uncomfortable. I imagine the wild popularity of Sherlock has made it worse for her. I sometimes shudder when I think of, for example Armitage, reading slash RPF about himself or seeing some of the fan art with Thorin and Bilbo, or anyone else ( though I don’t know whether he’s amused or upset). But in the end, I always come out on the side of artistic expression and the right of artists and writers to publish fiction.

            On the other hand, I think once you do publish something like that, you’re fair game for criticism, which is why I never understood the outcry against that reporter for publicizing the fanfic written about Sherlock and John during the preshow talk for the premiere of Sherlock in terms from the point of view of the author. I thought it was bad judgment to confront the two actors with it in that context, but aside from that, I thought it was fair game.
            Well, I’ve gone off topic, haven’t I?

          • No such thing as off topic in this here parts😉
            All I can say at the moment is that it’s actually Amanda that is constantly talking about Johnlock, her relationship with Martin, the privacy of her children (which I agree with, but isn’t it a contradiction if she’s the one who brings them up in almost every interview I’ve read?). She hardly ever talks about anything else.
            I have no doubt that she will learn to be smarter about what she says, how she says it and I hope she finds her own voice, not as Martin’s partner, Johnlock opponent but as a talented actress and a funny person.
            Regarding fan art and the differences of opinion on the topic of slash etc. All I can say is: It’s easy to support and opinion you agree with. It’s a great feeling to add comments to a post that critisizes something I too disagree with (believe me, I know, I’ve done that too…).
            It’s much harder to stretch your muscles and actually try to understand the other side.
            This is how I see it:
            You don’t agree with slash? Great, good for you. I accept that and I’m not forcing you to read or write it. I like it and it’s up to you whether you extend the same courtesy and leave me be or you waste your energy trying to shame me, force me to change my opinion (which won’t happen).
            Yup, now I’ve gone off off topic😉

          • Well to some degree I think Amanda Abbington is talking about what she thinks fans want to hear about when she talks about her family.
            About people who are so vocal about criticizing slash, it seems a losing battle to me as it’s been around and popular forever. They’re not going to change anything about it and so often, it’s the same old argument, which is why I didn’t comment there when it was posted. I disagree with the non-slash position, I like a lot of it myself) and I have in the past. I don’t buy the arguments against it, but I can still have a good relationship with the commenters and bloggers there who have a different opinion. At least so far and I hope it stays that way. It’s easy for me to take this position because we’re talking about fiction. I have different ideas about commentary.

          • I like to think that I too have a good relationship with people despite holding opposing views.
            What I’ve learned is that:
            Some battles are pointless and you will do no good engaging in them. I ask myself whether anything good will come of it or should I just step away and let it be
            If you do wish to engage, don’t be trigger happy. Take a moment, step away, reread the text that upset you in the first place before you shoot back
            I ask myself: How much of what upset me is actually there, not implied or interpreted. What’s the writer’s point of view?
            Am I defending MY point of view by not allowing another to do the same?
            You can sometimes do more harm than good by rushing to defend a friend that you feel has been wronged. Sometimes other forms of support work better
            Context is important before you pass judgment and show your support to someone. Not every “bully” is a bully
            These are my general guidelines, they don’t always work, but have served me well😉

  2. Thanks Agzy, or all the mentions this week. I think, though, you and Guylty should agree that you should also link to some of each other’s posts. You had the one on the questiion, whether Richard could do anything to turn one of him, and Guylty had a hugely successful ooof.

    Reply
    • Thanks Perry. I always figure that a group of people who pop by for the round-up also stay and snoop around other posts. I could make a whole weekly round-up of Guylty online activities, that’s how much I like her and what she comes up with online🙂

      Reply
  3. it was MarieAstra who did the “what is normal” post, not me😉

    Reply
  4. Thank you for the reblog. I’m baffled by the commentary after the link, however, as I had no intention of policing other fans who are for RPF, slash or otherwise. I merely stated that I don’t get it, and will never get it. As I stated on my blog, any rational opinion I may have against it usually pales in comparison to my “feelings” about it, and I have to honor that. That’s why I don’t run to other bloggers’ posts that extol its virtues to relay my feelings for being against it – I simply can’t put my feelings into words like other people can, and that’s just the way I am.

    I have read many opinions from people who like slash, and I respect that – even to the point of being called ‘vanilla’ in what I can only assume is meant in a derogatory way – I just wish that others respected my feelings for not liking it (for reasons which do not involve not wanting to read depictions of interactions between same sexes but because they deal with real people) , whether or not they wish to comment on my blog or post their own opinions about it on their own blog.

    Reply
    • Dear MM, the comment about policing is attached to the link regarding the situation in Turkey and the policing of books that threaten the freedom of speech. It serves as an extreme example of what happens when one person gets to decide what content is acceptable. BTW, just to make this clear YOU are not the said person.
      Your link is separated by a paragraph where I mentioned that I want to write about the Abbington situation. In no way shape or form did I accuse you of policing. If that were so I probably wouldn’t have linked at all.

      Reply
      • Unfortunately it’s the way I took its context, whether or not it was separated by a paragraph, particularly after I read the comments below. Maybe to avoid any misunderstanding from simple folk like me who may come to the same conclusion, to remove the link to my Amanda Abbington post altogether. In fact I’d very much appreciate it if you did.

        Reply
  5. Great collection of links!

    Reply
  6. I do so love these round-ups!🙂 And while looking at pictures of RA is an EXCELLENT way to spend time (oh yes, most excellent!) I’m really enjoying the thoughtful writing & dialog of this fandom. I can’t count the times I’ve laughed out loud or said “I completely agree!” or “I never thought of that!”

    Reply
    • Each week someone manages to expand my horizon🙂 There are so many smart creative people out there and it’s my pleasure to spend a few hours each week getting to check them out.

      Reply

Have Your Say!

