RSS Feed

Thorin is spreading and I can’t make him stop (where are Orcs when you need them!!!)

Posted on

I don’t know about you, but I always enjoy posts which feature pics of bloggers in their natural habitat and am often confused that they actually exist in RL in oppose to being conveniently placed right inside my laptop.

Today I will be posting tiny peeks into Chez AgzyM, dust bunnies, vinyl wallpapers and all😉

There’s a room in my flat which has  a set of shelves on the left hand side as you enter.

chez1Even before I move in, I started collecting fancy little shoe figurines and added the Andy Warhol Shoe book of illustration to the mix.

It was a cute feature, but it was time for a change…

You see, I’ve been fiddling about and in the meantime my Erebor has been slowly taken over!

 Thorin had been creeping into my flat (I have a sneaking suspicion he found my secret dwarf door and just used his key…and I don’t mean that in a dirty way…).

It started with London Thorin, a gift from my BFF while we were in London in 2012 to see The Hobbit AUJ.

chez 2

Then this Christmas I added Anime Thorin to the collection (thanks not-so-secret- Santa!).

chez 3

Then a beautiful Thorin stamp rounded things up (I’ll be changing the stamp background today, I think I can do a bit better and it certainly deserves it…).

chez 4

OK, three is hardly a company of dwarves, so Lego Thorin was added to strengthen the group.

chez 5

When you’ve already let decency go, it’s easy to go from four to five, so that’s how I ended up with Heroclix Thorin.

chez 6

If we add my own Stockingface Thorin who remains blind, so he won’t be battling dragons any time soon…

chez 7

….that makes SIX Thorins in one woman’s flat!

Slightly excessive, no?

I gathered my company of dwarves on my bookshelves, but the written word started to fight back, so I’ve succumbed and gave the shoes the boot…

chez 8

One bookshelf is hardly excessive, but then, if I’m honest, that’s not the only place where RA pops up.

There’s an Action Figure Gizzy on the way (and I’m still not ready to talk about that particular impulse buy…).

Gizzy will come stomping his feet, clad in squeaking leather, wielding his sword, and will find the lodgings somewhat cramped…

There’s my Pop Art Richard Pic that’s standing right by my front door (and contrasts the authentic 20s telephone pretty nicely, right?):

chez 9Then there’s the kitchen.

I really liked the beautiful card from Guylty and thought it’s go well with my 60s Polish Ćmielów figurines that are right above my cooker:

chez 10

I dare not think who else will set up camp in Chez AgzyM (although I’m certain it won’t be Weta Thorin, at least till I win the lottery…).

Other RA items are put away, for now, although last night I dreamed up a board where I could display all the beautiful cards I’ve received from my Armitage Admirer friends.

I’ll keep you posted…

Oh, and Sir PJ, as you vacation in luxurious exotic locations and I freeze my bollocks off, you’re very welcome😉

Update:

I think Stamp Thorin looks much better… onto the shelf it goes!

chez 11

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

22 responses »

  1. Thanks for the peak Agzy. Haven’t seen Thorin in the Loo. Some enterprising person should come up with a line of Thorin Shampoo or guest soaps. Love the the ghost chair.

    Reply
    • Yup, I’ll be moving the beautiful RA magnets I got from Guylty to the bathroom heater as it’s the only surface in my flat where they stick😉
      I agree with the idea of Thorin shampoo and other knickknacks we’d probably spend our dosh on- there doesn’t really seem to be an abundance of stuff.
      PS. I love my ghost Louis😉

      Reply
  2. ” bloggers in their natural habitat ” *bruhahahahaha. So apt. A vvery impressive Thorin collection you have there! I am looking forward to seeing Sir Guy pop up. (Now I feel very tempted to get a plastic Guy for myself, too…)
    And I loooove those peeks into my fellow fangirls’s lives. There’s a topic that could be explored more. I hope others will follow suit and show us the little traces that RA or his characters have left in their homes. (I already have – although my study is not the only place where he crops up *blushes*).
    PS: How nice that you have my card up!! I actually have your pop-art card up above my desk, too! I love the mickey-mouse hat. x

    Reply
    • I’d love to snoop around other bloggers houses a tad! In RL I always head for the bookshelf to feast my eyes and I like to do a general sweep as I’m a bit of a home decor nut😉 I hope other bloggers will show their blog caves where all the magic happens😉

      Reply
    • Just checked–Guy of Gisborne–Action figure RARE Only one I found was out of box without sword. $55 USD — Guy of Gisborne on a Horse $150.00 USD.

      Reply
  3. One can never have too many Thorins. But if you feel he’s taking over (can that be bad?) you might throw Guy, Lucas or a few Johns into the mix. Guyliner Guy or swimming pool Lucas in the bathroom..

    Reply
  4. I have three of those, but I’ve never seen the Heroclix one before. You need to get your hands on one of the big cardboard cut-out Thorins to stand guard for you around the place.

    Reply
    • No, no cardboard Thorin, I just can’t. I’d be hanging my bra on it at the end of the day, and that would be just a new level of crazy😉
      I have a few more Thorins I wouldn’t mind adding to my mini collection, but for now the shipping is twice the price of the figure, so I figure they can stuff it…

      Reply
  5. Other than the 2 posters in my closet, I’ve been relegated to keeping Thorin on my desk. It’s time to spread out, to take a stand, to, to, to, oh heck, I can put my stuff wherever I want, Orcrist wouldn’t say a word….Katherine–You can get Heroclix almost anywhere. Don’t pay more than about $2 USD for one though. (Check EBay.)

    Reply
  6. I have fallen in love with Anime Thorin. He’s just so cute!!!!

    Reply
  7. NICE!! Oh I like your framed Thorin stamp, I need to do that with mine, extra special as Anna send it who’s no longer with us. My little Thorin sits side by side Lego Loki and recently a Little Loki, so far he hasn’t taken offense🙂 the life size Thorin reigns in my boys’ bedroom I just feel safer that way😉

    Reply
    • You need to show that stamp some love and care then!
      I was afraid I’d lose mine so I stuck it in a frame in oppose to keeping it in an unmarked envelope. I looked at it again today and realized that’s no way to treat a majestic king😉
      I was thinking about branching out with Gandalf’s and Loki’s but I just can’t do that to my poor budget!

      Reply
  8. I wanna see action-figure Gizzy!😀
    my husband likes to uphold the illusion of appearing “normal”, so I have nothing fun on display😦 if I had my way, I’d have multiple fangirl shrines all over the house😎

    Reply
    • It’s the one that’s been out for a while.

      I’ve been fishing for it, but when the Robin Hood figures come up on ebay, it’s usually Robin (and, seriously, who’d want that?!?) or the sheriff (again…). Then I found Gizzy sold in and shipped from Dubai… with a freakin’ giant horse.

      Even I have my limits!
      So when plain ol’ Gizzy popped up, at a reasonable price, no horse I got trigger happy😉
      BTW, I sometimes leave my fangirl items at Magzy’s place (she lives next door) and if I ever so slowly add an object here and there she doesn’t notice till it starts piling up. Maybe you should steadily introduce a few tiny objects and your hubby won’t notice😉

      Reply
      • it’s funny how we’ve been conditioned: that horse does look insanely huge, yet it is to scale with the figure. you didn’t want to practice your horse-riding skills?😛
        as for slowly introducing small fangirl objects so my husband won’t notice: I’m a stubborn instant-gratification kinda girl, so *if* I were to start, I wouldn’t settle for mini Lego Thorin; I’d go straight for the huge cardboard cut-out!😆 go big or go home😀

        Reply
        • LOL! I can see it now:
          -Darling?
          -Yes dear?
          -Why is there a life sized cardboard dwarf in our dining room?
          -What life-sized cardboard dwarf?
          -The one that’s RIGHT THERE staring at us as we eat our dinner
          -Oh, that old thing? That’s been there for ages. It’s an old family heirloom passed on from generation to generation…
          Maybe you’re right, the hubby would catch on eventually once you got that Thorin wallpaper for the bedroom😉

          Reply
      • Wow, you got the horse? For some reason that was rarer than the plain Gisborne figures. Although Itsy has been buying a lot of the Gizzy figures and modifying them …

        Reply

Have Your Say!

