RSS Feed

I saw Something Fine: Crafty Thorin Stockingface

Posted on

RAflash event

Today marks the start of the RA Flash Fan Event that will run starting Monday 13th of January and last a week.

You can find the list of all the posts from this event here.

The theme is I Saw Something Fine which we can interpret whichever way we like.

I had already scheduled this post and teased Guylty that I have a little surprise for her today, so let’s pretend I heard “I Saw Something Fine” and the following project sprung to mind😉

Let’s be honest, Thorin has inspired many others to create very beautiful (or very dodgy) stuff, and he sure is fiiiine, so I say it fits!

basic stuff

I’d been meaning to create a lil’ Thorin for some time, one that would complement the ever growing Thorin Book guards that see my off as I head out to work each day.

I had already gathered up all the necessary elements (yarn, felt and such) in autumn, but RL didn’t lend itself to arts and crafts.

With absolutely no plan in place and a very vague memory of doing cute little stocking faces when I was a child, I ventured into my very own Craft Mirkwood.

thorin stockingface

The process would have been much easier had I been able to locate my hot glue gun (last seen some time in 2011, a reward for any info regarding whereabouts…), so I ended up having to hand-stitch an awful lot.

And you need to know that I don’t sew. Nope, never ever…

Anyway, this was intended as a fridge magnet but I couldn’t get the darn magnet to stick to the back, so I quickly changed my non-existent plan and attached a hoop made of yarn so Thorin can be well hung… *cough*… moving swiftly along…

thorin stockingface 2Thorin Stockingface is in the company of gifts from friends🙂

This Thorin is actually going to be shipped off to a certain portable shrine in Ireland (because, let’s be honest, EVERY shrine needs a slightly dodgy hand-made puppet head of an angry dwarf to brighten up the place).

thorin stockingface unfinished

Anyway, I started on a second one for myself and I was aiming for a more angry eyebrow Thorin, but I think I stuffed him a tad too much, so we’ll see how this one turns out.

I’m already asking a very dangerous question:

Hey, can I make a full-sized one, thunder thighs and all…

I’ll keep you posted.

thorin 2

 

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

21 responses »

  1. O-M-G!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is just brilliant, Agzy!!! What a cool piece of fan art. And me the recipient of it??? *speechless* I love this idea, I love that you *made* it *by hand* and from the pictures I think you really caught Thorin’s face very well. I cannot wait for this to turn up in the post and I pray to the Gods of the Postal Service for a safe and speedy delivery via the unreliable service that is An Post. *squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee*

    Reply
  2. As someone completely incapable for handcraft, I congratulate you for this lovely Thorin!!!😉

    Reply
    • I can’t underline enough how pathetic I am at arts and crafts, so it’s only a vague idea and plenty of enthusiasm that keeps me trying this stuff😉

      Reply
      • So, we can say your experience was a huge success!!😉
        If I tried to do something like what you did, not even Gandalf’s magic would help me… LOL

        Reply
        • Lol! So Gandalf can battle he forces of Sauron, but help you with crafts? Not so much😉 Gandalf only ever knows how to make large eagles from butterflies, so I’m guessing he’d be useless with yarn and cotton balls!

          Reply
  3. So clever and funny. I am expecting to see an updated photo of that Irish Shrine (GUYLTY) and where is Agzy going to place hers. I see a cottage industry here – in your free (cough) time.

    Reply
    • I know, one she receives it the pressure will be on Guylty- just like those dodgy jumpers your gran buys and you only ever wear when she’d visit, Guylty will hang him up for a photoshoot and off to the draw he goes LOL! I joke😉

      Reply
  4. I’m in awe… That’s one majestic stocking face, and the eyes are striking!🙂

    /yes, please DO keep us posted…/

    Reply
  5. This is so high/late medieval, except for the fridge. Neat!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: I Saw Something Fine: Crafty Thorin Stockingface | I Saw Something Fine

  7. Girl — you’re doing something right if your crafty creation is instantly recognizable! Look at you go!🙂

    Reply
  8. Oh man. The eyes! Also can double as a tree ornament????! 😀

    Reply
  9. Pingback: I Saw Something Fine – RA Fan Event 2014 | Love, Sex & Other Dirty Words

  10. Pingback: RA Flash Fan Event: The Shelf-Life of a Fangirl Crush | I Want to be a Pin Up

  11. Pingback: Worshipping at the RAltar | GUYLTY PLEASURE

Have Your Say!

