RSS Feed

What a difference an RA Letter makes or How the Bastard C did not steal Christmas

Posted on

Christmas pattern

It was a frosty Friday morning, I was waiting for my morning meeting and sneaked a peek at Me+R to brighten up my mood.

The first post merely said:

New message

And I knew that a day that would potentially suck the joy out of me would be that tad bit better.

It was the day when we’d find out if The Bastard C that had been discovered in my mum’s belly had spread and done any damage.

Before I move on let me just light a few fireworks, pop a bottle of champagne  cheap bubbly wine and scream out with joy that although we have tough times ahead, we may just get away with merely surgery (as shitty as that is) and will be battling Bastard C on one front🙂

Anyway, I quickly followed the link to Annette’s  page and there it was!

It’s true that you may not always get what you want (although I STILL maintain that Richard could theoretically fit under my tree wrapped in a nice big red bow), but the universe sure does gives us what we need.

The Message from Richard Armitage, 19th December 2013 resonated with me on so many levels!

Here are some parts that seemed particularly poignant to me:

I am very proud to have such   a dedicated community of ‘well wishers’ (better word than   fans…right?) Proud because of the dignity and decency with which you   communicate with each other and document your ideas. It’s always   illuminated with positivity and support for each other, unlikely   friendships forged through a common interest.

I couldn’t agree more and I’m not even going to go into detail how touched I always am at the thoughtfulness of my online friends and how kind-hearted and supportive they are!

I am proud that I have the opportunity to spend time and share thoughts and feelings with such a group of intelligent, educated, creative and generally kick-arse bunch!

We don’t always get along, but I strongly believe that everyone who wonders into the Land of Armitage Admirers will find exactly what they are looking for.

If it’s a release from everyday crap, or the need for friendship and companionship, a forum to dig deeper into who you are or some good old-fashioned fangirling, you’ll find it here.

Sadly, some feel the need to fuel their RL frustrations and come here looking for a fight, but I can only hope that they find peace.

The next part resonated with me too:

I wanted to wish you love and happiness for 2014, thank you for the   generous gifts and the donations to the ‘Just Giving’ pages I think our   totals are looking very healthy.

I didn’t have the opportunity to announce that all of the money raised during the Richard Armitage Silent Auction has been transferred to Just Giving.

RA Silent auction transfer

Although I was particularly involved with the auction, let’s not forget that it was one of many (MANY) donations made to Richard’s charities of choice throughout the year and just underlines that this fandom not only possesses a generosity of spirit but also digs deep in their pockets to support a worthy cause!

Christmas 2

Richard summed up my feelings towards Christmas this year perfectly:

I   want to say that for me especially as I get older, this time of year   becomes more about making the journey to be with family or friends and   sitting around a table which hopefully has some good food on it, however   bountiful that is.

With the prospect of very bad news looming over my family I knew that no matter what I had to do my absolute best to keep up the Christmas spirit.

It’s that much more challenging to celebrate a holiday when something bad happens and I can only be thankful that the news we got put a spring in our steps, but also refocused us.

That Friday evening we met up at my parent’s house and decorated the tree together for the first time in over 20 years.

My dad told my mother the wonderful news we got was better than any gift he could have found under the Christmas tree and he doesn’t want to anything else (yes, we all got teary-eyed).

Then he topped it up by going against our wishes and he single-handily put up the lights on the house.

When asked why he was being so stubborn and didn’t ask for help, but he said: I made a promise with myself that if the news is good I’ll put up the icicles! (again, he had us all teary-eyed).

Santa Richard Armitage

And to all my friends who are going through a difficult time:

But for those who don’t have very much or are alone,   I wish them at least a sense of peace for a day. I know that I am happiest when I can be useful, which usually involves giving time and  effort towards something. That gives me peace.

To those who have a difficult family situation, are alone or have suffered loss, I hope you know that you ARE NOT alone.

I hope that you find comfort any way you can, be it through RA stuff, or connecting with your friends online or popping on a trusty copy of The Vicar of Dibley DVD.

As Richard mentioned, I hope you too find peace in what you do, even if it’s in small things like making gravy!

christmas 3

And to Richard, the glue that keeps this whole community together, the person who gives us joy and inspiration, a huge thank you for connecting with your fans, for brightening our day (after day after day…), for giving us so many reasons to call ourselves the Armitage Army/Armitage Admirers/ well-wishers, or whatever form feels right to you!

I hope you have a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends and have a nice glass of grog/eggnog/red wine on us🙂

Tomorrow I’ll be boring you posting about how we are celebrating Christmas this year and I’m sure I have a few “Richard in a Santa hat” PS images in me to knock out🙂

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

41 responses »

  1. Wonderful post, Agzy. Thank you and merry Christmas.

    Reply
  2. Glad to hear the news isn’t as bad as you’d feared. It will surely still be a battle, but every fight less is part of the battle won.🙂 My fingers are crossed. Have a wonderful Christmas with your family, *hugs*

    Reply
  3. Oh, Agzy. I’ve been there with my mum and I wish you the same outcome – no consequences whatsoever. Definitely some shitty times ahead, but I really hope it’s all behind you by next Christmas! Stay positive… I’ll be thinking about you and your family. *hugs*

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, people who have had similar experiences have been very supportive! My mother is not the easiest of people to get along with and there’s only so much support you can offer a person like that. Luckily the good news has renewed our joy and appreciation for the little things.
      Merry Christmas!!!

      Reply
  4. Wishing you and yours all the very best, Agzy. *hugs* My BIL is facing several tests Monday to determine extent of damage from a small stroke and to see if cancer has reappeared. First Christmas in years we will miss spending with family. A bittersweet time for us. But Christmas joy will still be found. May RA and his ardent admirers and well-wishers all find that joy, too.

    Reply
    • Angie, I’m very sorry to hear that but I truly believe that when you all meet up next year you’ll look back and feel relief that the bad times have passed! I really do hope that all our RA friends out there who are struggling will find peace and comfort. Sometimes it can be one heck of a terrible time of year for some but even before the good news I was hell-bent on at least trying to bring a little joy to our family and I’m sure you will too.

      Reply
  5. littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

    Lovely message from Armi this year, huh?😉
    I’m glad his words have brought you comfort when you are in need of it most. And, like you so rightly said, you are not alone.❤
    I wish you and your family a magical Christmas together.
    Big hugs to you, Agzy, for so many reasons
    xxxx

    Reply
    • Thanks Hannah, I’m sorry we didn’t get to meet up when I was in London, I got the bad news during my stay and we were just trying to make the best of the time we had. Huge hugs to you and a very merry Christmas to you! I shall pull my first cracker that I somehow managed to squeeze into my suitcase for my UK friends🙂

      Reply
      • littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

        Aw, that’s okay luvie, I completely understand.
        I sincerely hope everything works out well for you and your family. Stay strong, look after each other, and, as they say in Blighty, “keep your pecker up.
        Love and hugs
        Xxxx

        Reply
        • Next year I DEMAND the European premiere be in London so we can all cheer Richard on as he struts down the red carpet! Hear that Peter Jackson! Give the people what they want!!!🙂

          Reply
          • littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

            I demand it too! Poor London felt rather neglected this year😥 Yeah, sort it out, PJ!

  6. Agzy, I’m glad that the news you and your family were waiting for was the news you wanted to hear. And I thank you so much for your holiday wishes, and for all the smiles you bring me most mornings. May you and your family and all your loved ones find health, happiness and laughter in this holiday season and in the New Year.

    Reply
  7. Agzy–That is why we are called an Army. Because we stand together through thick and thin. When one of us needs a hand we all reach out. When one of us is angry we let them vent. When one of us is sad, we all hand them a hanky. When one of us is happy we all share in that happiness. As the saying goes, “Friendship doubles our joys, and divides our sorrows.” Merry Christmas to you and yours, and a special kiss to your papa from me to refill his energy base. He deserves it.

    Reply
    • Beautifully put Arky! Support from my Armitage friends makes all the difference and I hope that others know that they can count on me and my help, in whatever measly capacity I can offer it! A very Merry Christmas! You seem like the loudest carol singer in your family so I bet you’re going to serenade the season with all your might😉

      Reply
  8. I’m so happy to hear the good news dear Agzy and I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas !

    Reply
  9. Hugs and merry Christmas! I hope that if you break the opłatek in your family it is a lovely and loving time.

    Reply
    • LOL! The opłatek battle, as every year, is over. I’d just get it anywhere but my mother insists it be bought in a church, so I left the matter in her capable hands.
      S, huge hugs to you, please remember that I’ll be thinking of you and mentally fedexing soothing thoughts and the extra bit of strength to get through this time! I don’t know if it’ll work, but then if not I hope it really is a case of “it’s the thought that counts”…

      Reply
  10. So Christmas has come a few days early… I am very glad to hear those news, and I wish you a happy Christmas with your sister and parents. A few hours without thinking of bad things. Escapism, maybe, but needed to replenish the batteries.
    Looking forward to your Santa RA post tomorrow – I’ll be flying home and eating Silesian sausages and sauerkraut. No gravy here – I’ll leave that to braver men😉

    Reply
    • Honey, the wild mushrooms are cooking, so is the sauerkraut with onion and garlic. Definitely no gravy here either, but there are some disturbingly large bits of a few unfortunate animals being roasted as we speak. I’ll leave the Silesian sausages to braver men (and women)😉

      Reply
  11. Wonderful post Agzy and all the best to you and your family. Glad to hear you have some good news and have each other to lean upon when you need to. Hugs.

    Reply
  12. I am happy for you and your family, darling! And lots of kisses for your Mum.
    Merry Xmas an Happy New Year!
    I’m on TW if you need something.😉

    Reply
  13. Agzy, what a wonderfully written post with some really good-to-hear gratifying news.
    Hope everything turns out fine with your mother.
    I was almost moved to tears when I discovered RA’s new message on Friday midmorning (as we all had our doubts, whether there ever would be another one, right?). He’s so good in putting his thoughts into words, always so heartfelt, singular and again very, very special. For sure a real balm on quite a few ruffled souls/feelings out there in Armi-world.
    I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and all the best for the whole family, Have a couple of joyous and relaxing days and thanks again Agzy, for always giving me such a good time when I pop in on your most entertaining “Pinup-pages”!!! Cheers!! and Hugs !!!😀

    Reply
    • I was teary-eyed, I can’t lie! I just really needed a boost that morning and that certainly did it for me. I had all but given up hope that Richard would send us a message at all, so it was a delightful surprise.
      A wonderful Christmas to you G, and to your family!!!

      Reply
  14. OT: Just saw your tweet from a week ago, that you unhappily were stuck at Munich airport. How come that you ended up here? Sounds quite an unusual way to fly to London from your place?? Next time, give me a call and we can have a quick or not so quick coffee, just to shorten and sweeten your waiting time!!😉 Actually, last week I was still in Berlin on the 11th of December…….

    Reply
    • Oh Honey, what a nightmare that was. A direct flight is a little more expensive so we usually fly through Paris or Amsterdam. It’s a few hours longer, but it seemed a good idea to have more money to blow in London. On our way out to London we were delayed because of fog in London. The way back was just a nightmare. The plane was already delayed from London, so by the time we reached Munich we had to run through the terminal to catch the Warsaw flight just in the nick of time. They made me run! I felt like I was in a romcom only that there was no handsome stranger waiting for me at the gate, only info that our plane had already left because it: “had to leave on time”. I was so pissed at Lufthansa, the staff was a bit blasé about the whole thing and I really hope I don’t ever have to see the inside of Munich airport ever again. We didn’t get home till past 9pm and that’s after travelling all day. I think in future we’ll take a direct flight so we don’t have to worry about every single Lufthansa flight being delayed apart from the one that really mattered😦

      Reply
  15. A lovely post! RA’s holiday message was very heart arming. I’m keeping your mother and your family in my thoughts and prayers. here’s hoping this Christmas is extra special for you. And wonderful news about your RA Auction results!

    Reply
  16. I’m so glad your news wasn’t as bad as it might’ve been- that’s a great start. I want to say how much pleasure I’ve had from reading your blog posts this year- you have a wonderful knack for providing good humour, positivity, and a sense of fun. Much appreciated.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Agzy!

    Reply
  17. Ogromnie sie cieszę twoją radościa ,Agzym🙂 Śle siosRzAne uściski!
    Tak jak Katharine zawdzięczam Ci wiele usmiechów w tym roku, dziekuję!
    Życzę Ci spokoju i samych dobrych wiadomości w Nowym Roku! 🙂

    Reply
    • To dopiero początek drogi ale wiemy że nie będziemy walczyć na kilku frontach i jakoś raźniej z tą myślą. Tobie też życzę wspaniałego 2014. Ten minion rok nie należał do najbardziej udanych, ale nie mogę narzekać. Nie ufam nieparzystym liczbom więc myślę że ten przyszły rok będzie obfitował w pozytywne wydarzenia🙂

      Reply

Have Your Say!

