RSS Feed

Holy Dwarfballs, Desolation of Smaug is dragonlicious!

Posted on

The-Hobbit-The-Desolation-Of-Smaug

I’m back from my adventure, I met a group of rowdy dwarves AND I saw Smaug the dragon (albeit portrayed on the New Zealand Air plane at Munich Airport).

I had an amazing time and will be sharing the highlights in upcoming posts.

Today I’ll focus The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug which I saw on Friday at Leicester Square Odeon at 12.45 courtesy of the wonderful Guylty who gifted me my precious tickets  :)

This is not a review, just a few observations.

I’ve only seen the film once and will not be continuing my gushing in a cinema till it’s out on the 27th of December, when Poland catches up to the rest of the world…

I finally went to see it with my BFF who is most certainly not a Tolkien fan but decided he could use a 3 hour nap.

As we were queueing up to enter he turned to me and said:

Holy fuck, look at me standing in line with all the other geeks!

Yup babe, you’ve finally arrived in Coolsville, welcome🙂

hobbit-desolation-smaug-legolas-tauriel-banner

I’m pretty sure I wrote about how weird (and not in a good way…) I found the 48 fps.

I felt like I was watching a program on The Discover Channel HD and that’s not necessarily what you want from a film.

This time around it did not bug me but at all, although the difference between 24 and 48 fps must be significant as Max was traumatized and kept muttering about it looking like an 80s TV series.

Oh dear, guess maybe the technology won’t win movie goers over any time soon.

I wonder if it didn’t bug me because I knew what to expect or because on the whole many scenes in DOS are dark or contain fight sequences and the new technology lends itself to that better.

As Richard said, the film is fast paced from the get go and doesn’t ease up for a second.

I’ll just say it, in my humble opinion it wiped the floor with AUJ!

I’ve always said that for me AUJ dragged a tad in places and it felt one scene too long, although which one I would eliminate I cannot tell you.

I actually made a rookie mistake of gulping down what was the equivalent of a bucket of Diet Coke prior to venturing to Middle Earth and I was hard pressed to find a moment that seemed appropriate to sneak out to the loo.

They should start handing out Hobbit themed potties at the cinema, just an idea…

DOSSP_25-cb211155

Anyway, I feel like they have managed to recapture that LOTR magic that was somewhat lacking in this last Hobbit part, but I refuse to believe that it was as simple as introducing the elves, although Thranduil had me snapping my fingers and saying: Bitch so sassy!😉

I really enjoy the introduction of new characters, including Tauriel and can hardly blame her for falling for Aidan Turner Kili , so no shade throwing please!

hobbit-desolation-smaug-screenshot

And Smaug!!! Oh Smaug the Stupendous!

Now I know why Cumberbatch is so adamant that playing this part entailed more that simply lending your voice.

I found the whole film ridiculously exciting and I think Sir PJ may well have learned a few things from AUJ and tweaked DOS so it would give LOTR fans more of what they love!

tumblr_mtzy9xle9M1s1oat1o2_500

I can’t really write much about Thorin apart from the fact that I have a thing for Richard unravelling his characters very much like Lucas in season 10.

On the one hand clearly greed and the ever present obsession clouds his mind, but he is still very much protective of his company and kin.

I can’t even tell you how much I enjoyed the Thorin/Thranduil faceoff, but there’s less cattiness on Ru Paul’s Drag Race!

Now now, calm down, you’re both pretty😉

What were your favourite DOS parts?

Who wins the title of King of Sass?

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

8 responses »

  1. Darling, I did not gift you anything because you sneaky person send me a letter with money!!! I am so glad that the tickets worked, though! And btw – I wholeheartedly agree with you about the film – I had not a single bored moment in the film (ok, well, the dragon-Bilbo scene was a bit too long for my liking, but I wasn’t really bored). I enjoyed the HFR, too – especially in IMAX, which was vertigo-inducing in places (or maybe that was because I was in nose-bleed seats in row 5 despite booking my tickets for the Irish opening night 3 weeks ago?). I am going again tonight, and I hope to catch a bit more this time. I am afraid in viewing #1 I was just busy fangirling over Thorin…
    Now that you are back I am going to post another post soon – fandom love needs to be celebrated😉

    Reply
  2. The fact that there is no boring White Council scene in the middle of this film was definitive proof for me that this film was made for teenagers — no place to leave for the bathroom, lol. So grateful for your enthusiasm!

    Reply
  3. I saw the movie last Saturday and have to confess I didn’t pay much attention to other characters except Thorin… Lol… Well, this is not completely true as I share you opinion about Thranduil!!!
    I also had a problem with the bathroom (somehow I manage to wait until the end of the movie) and I didn’t even drink anything before going in the movie theater… I don’t want to think about what would have happened if I had… lol
    In a general way I had fun watching The Hobbit, but I guess I’m too old for this sort of movie… ;-(

    Reply
  4. You mirror my thoughts much here, Agzy. I love this comment – “I’ll just say it, in my humble opinion it wiped the floor with AUJ!” I agree – but I really am one of “those” fans that liked AUJ.

    Some folk have lamented a few “jumping the shark” moments in the films. AUJ did much of that, especially in Goblin town. But sometimes you really have to ignore or suspend the science of physics in order to enjoy certain kinds of CG. Sometimes you can’t, but I think in DoS one really can. For the most part, I just take in the fantasy and keep just such perspective throughout, myself.

    And I like dark – so this one had my name all over it. If There and Back Again gets darker, all the better. I have seen it twice, but none was 3D or HFR yet. 3D often gives me motion sickness, so I wanted to see it 2D first. I went again with someone who felt the same.

    I think I will see it next in HFR, just because of what you have said here –
    “many scenes in DOS are dark or contain fight sequences and the new technology lends itself to that better.”

    So thank you for this affirmation and in taking the time to share your thoughts on the film for us.

    P.S. I too had made the mistake of taking in liquid that did not wish to stay for the duration of the film. Knowing I would see it again, I chose a lessor evil and went during the Thranduil/Tauriel scene. Again, it was good that I got to see it the second time, but although it is a good/telling/important scene, I knew I would not miss Thorin.😉

    Reply
  5. Reblogged this on crystalchandlyre and commented:
    Comments to Agzy (http://wordpress.com/read/post/id/31358844/11286) please, thank you!

    Reply
  6. I just got back from my jaunt to Middle Earth. I’ll be commenting on my blog.

    Reply
  7. *high five*
    Yep … me, too. *giggle*

    Reply
  8. littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

    Glad you enjoyed your middle-Earth adventure, via London😉

    The face off between Thorin and Thranduil was one of the scenes I’d been looking forward to the most…and I loved it…but I wanted moooore! I would have liked the dwarves to stay in Mirkwood a while longer, maybe not quite so long as they do in the book, but perhaps a few days…I just felt Bilbo rescued them too quickly… but hey, that’s just me. And maybe the DoS extended edition will hold some extra scenes ^^
    The dragon was awesome! I loved Smaug so much, that I actually felt sorry for it when the dwarves started throwing things at him… >_>
    Thorin was just glorious! Again. And, as I said to my friend after the screening, the film might as well have been called The Hot Dwarf Prince part II. Plus 12 more dwarves. A hobbit. And a big dragon. (As a sub title ;P).
    There is so much depthnand complexity in Armi’s portrayal of Thorin! I just…. Muh! -_-

    Anyhoo, despite a few niggling bits, mainly things being brushed over to make way for Tauriel, I loved it!
    Again, again!!😀

    Anyhoo, so sorry I didn’t get to meet up with you, Agzy. I sent you an email before you left buy I’m not sure you received it…?
    Not to worry though; another time, eh?

    Xx

    Reply

Have Your Say!

