RSS Feed

RA Silent Auction: The Morning After

Posted on

Armitage thank you

The Richard Armitage Silent Auction is done and what an amazing experience it has been!

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I have.

Let me start by thanking all the wonderful donations and generous bids.

I am also very grateful for those who made donations.

Thank you to those who stopped by to comment, retweeted, reblogged and reposted.

The winner of the Thorin Bookmark raffle is:

Raffle winner Debra

Congratulations, I will be contacting you shortly🙂

I have already emailed all the winners of the auction, so congrats to you all!

I will tally up when all of the transfers come in, but I can tell you this:

When I had the idea for the auction, I hoped that I’d manage get 10 items that would fetch 100 GBP.

I can tell you that the auction has exceeded my hope many times over!

Not only were the bids generous, but I’m also grateful for the donations that RA Silent Auction received.

The JustGiving charity that you have chosen to support is:

RA Silent Auction poll

I’ll be posting about the official transfer to Just Giving Childline once I have added everything up and all the transfers have come through.

This is the first time I’ve organised something on such a grand scale and I value your thoughts on what worked, what we could improve on etc., so feel free to email me at rasilentauction [at] wp.pl if you’d like to share your opinion.

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

22 responses »

  1. So glad to hear it went well! Sorry I couldn’t have bid higher, but the check still hasn’t arrived–and now my dog is in a bad way.😦 Congrats to all those who won items and thanks for your contributions to such a worthy cause!! And thanks again to Agzy for organizing this and to all those who donated/made items!

    Reply
    • Sorry about your pup. I love my dogs and would do anything to make them get better, so I really do understand.
      I’ve really enjoyed organising the auction, I’m taking notes on how we could make it better next year, if a 2014 RASA happens. What makes it easier is just how disciplined the RA peeps are! If all goes well, the formal part of the auction will be finished by tomorrow and all that’s left is to wait for the postman🙂

      Reply
      • He’s pretty much the sweetest dog in the world—he really is an absolute darling, my little mutt—and this skin condition is making my exuberant boy feel just “meh.” I did get him to eat a bowl of soup with extra cooking oil earlier and will treat him with some hydrogen peroxide a little later. The weather is nice today so I hope he can enjoy the mild temps and sunshine.

        Reply
        • Could it be a food allergy? I know it seems strange but actually many dogs have skin problems because of their diet.
          I remember when my Emma was a tiny pup she also had some skin problems and I’d wash her in the kitchen sink (she was like an overgrown hamster) and washed her with anti-dandruff shampoo because she was so itchy.

          Reply
          • It’s possible. He has white hair with a few black spots and light green eyes sensitive to sun (I sometimes want to buy him sunglasses!) and that red “staining” that is common with white-coated dogs. So I didn’t worry at first when I saw some redness. But it got worse. And out here in the country, there are an abundance of things to which he could be allergic/sensitive, poor fella. We are trying a new medication but not sure it’s working yet.

  2. Ditto to Angie’s comment!

    Reply
  3. Thrilled to bits that it all went even better than you’d hoped! Sorry I didn’t take part in the auction but I have just donated! 🙂 Thank you for making this option possible for us!

    Reply
  4. This was absolutely fabulous, Agzy. I think we can call it a resounding success – and if you should ever do it again, consider me in. I did not win any auction for myself, but I am thrilled to bits that both my items found a new home.
    Thank you thank you thank you!
    Will you give us the total once all is tallied up?

    Reply
    • I am packing up the winners’ boxes as we speak and am thrilled to do so. As Guylty says count me in as a sponsor again, anytime.

      Reply
      • Yay, couldn’t do it with a little help from my friends, and especially you two!
        I’ve just packed up my items too and I’m meeting a fellow RA fan this evening to personally hand over the goodies she bid on.
        I’m waiting on 3 more transfers for items and then the RASA 2013 will be over🙂

        Reply
        • I have just received the printed RA calendar in the post and it is absoFRIGGINGlutely amazing (if I may say that myself). Crystal-clear shots, high gloss cardboard, really large. Love it (but will part with it, of course). Glad you gave me the impetus to try this out.

          Reply
          • Yahoo, finally made it across the seas! I had no doubt it’d be amazing and this item was so heavily bid on, I think many people share your opinion how amazeballs it is🙂

  5. Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    Here are the results of the RA Silent Auction to benefit Armitage’s JustGiving charities! Great job, Agzy and company!

    Reply
  6. Great job, Agzy, and everyone else! I’m really delighted that the Childline phones will be staffed a little longer because of something we did in honor of our favorite crush! (Last year they were getting 25% more calls than they could respond to.)

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! I’ve learned so much about charity and the joy of giving since I joined this fandom, but I think I should write a post about it some other time. I really hope that the money raised from the auction will help at least a little bit🙂

      Reply
  7. Well done!! This was an absolutely marvelous idea, and everyone involved is a rockstar.❤

    Reply
    • Agreed, I’m amazed at how wonderful the response was, both from friends willing to donate items, bid and donate cash. I am also amazed at how disciplined everyone is. I’m waiting for 3 more items to be paid for, then it’s curtains and I can tally up🙂

      Reply

Have Your Say!

