RSS Feed

The Morning After, The Walk of Shame

Posted on

Thorin_fire

This is the morning after The Hobbit live fan event and I’m experiencing a slight hangover.

First of all, I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I usually shy away from the frenzy, but this time I managed to embrace it and share it with others from our humble fandom.

I think I was a little too enthused as I feel a tad like I’ve been partying hard with a group of dwarves😉

The internet connection was exemplary (although I did have backup, just in case) and the feed was perfect.

My only complaint isn’t that there wasn’t enough Richard (duh! is there ever?) but that it ended so abruptly.

As I said on Twitter, it felt like my invite was revoked just as the party was in full swing.

Turns out, just as our feed broke, the actors also exited, which is a crying shame as I wished our RA friends would get more juicy RA details.

The highlights were Richard answering the only question he was asked.

Here’s an impromptu pic I made before I forced myself to get some shut-eye:

RichardArmitageNY.jpg

I really like Evangeline Lily, who no doubt is aware that some Hobbit fans are giving her evils (No hatin! she said), Lee Pace strutting his elvish stuff and the juicy additional The Hobbit: DOS clips.

*puts Sherlock dear stalker hat on*I wanted to take this opportunity to try to deduce a little something about what Richard has been up to.

tumblr_mvrgkuiCnT1r99ka1o1_500

The long curls are still in tact, he also seems to be growing a beard.

The thing that struck me was how slender he looked.

Not quite Spooks Lucas North season 7, but I think it’s safe to say that Richard isn’t preparing to shoot an action movie.

The question is, does this slimmer frame mean he’s actually auditioning/preparing/shooting something or is it just the strain of shooting three films back to back, relocating to NY?

Does he perhaps miss English food and his mother’s cooking?

I wish he’d make it easier to deduce by, I don’t know, having a script sticking out from his (gorgeous) leather coat pocket or accidentally spilling the beans by using another character’s name instead of Thorin.

As always. Richard knows what’s going on, but he’s not telling!

We’ll get you next time though, Mr A!

Care to do some deducing of your own?

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

36 responses »

  1. I love hearing from everyone;s vantage point. I sure feel as if it’s the morning after.

    Reply
    • Hey, how was it for you? Did you meet up with others? Did you get your fangirl on?😉
      I’m just making my way down the blogs, haven’t get seen any Perry reflections and I’m looking forward to that!

      Reply
  2. Good observation, if he’s preparing for a role it’s not an action role (I am happy with this). I noticed he looked tired (or starving? LOL!) but he’s not actually working for what we know. He stopped pick ups end of July, just did a week of pick up for Into the Storm and got back and forth from UK to USA but nothing more. This doesn’t explain his tired look. Any idea?

    Reply
    • Stress, worry, either because something big is about to happen (like a new part) or because there’s nothing new.
      Maybe he needs to rest after filming for so long and is just bumming out (doubtful plus I actually gain weight when there’s nothing happening).

      Reply
      • Yes, It could be stress for how things are going… I hope it’s not the case. I think (hope) he’s preparing a role. I will follow, whatever he does.

        Reply
        • There is always that Poldark mini series possibility, one that I am rooting for whole-heartedly! I feel a bit discouraged with Black Sky/Into the Storm and really hope that Richard goes back to British television. This may be selfish for me to say, but there’s something about a good series/mini series that satisfies the fangirl in me.
          For now until I know any better, I prefer to think that it’s not stress that’s influencing his weight, but a juicy costume drama that requires it from him😉

          Reply
          • Me too! I’d love Poldark since I watched the original series ages ago😉 He would be perfect. And yes, a bit puzzled by Into the Storm. Hope it won’t be a flop. It surely doesn’t sound like a character RA love to portray but we know so little about it… I keep my faith and will see the film in theater IF it will hit Italian theaters. No sign of it until now (while other European Countries had announced it yet)

          • I haven’t seen Poldark, but I was thinking of reading the book, Ya know, as fangirl research😉 Do you think I should give the series a go?
            I’m a bit adamant about old costume dramas. I started watching the old North and South but switched off when Margaret was sitting on a freaking rocking horse gushing. Just couldn’t get past that LOL!

          • oh dear! No, Poldark is not or you😉 I hope they do a more “modern” version of it. RA N&S was perfect in this respect. They did a great job in making it more palatable for out times and tastes. I haven’t seen the old version, but judging from the book, and just to make an example, authors did a fantastic work depicting Bess. A great character in the series, not so much in the book, imho.

          • That’s exactly what I’m hoping for too, Agzy!

          • 🙂 Maybe our collective wishes will come true by the sheer strength of them😉

  3. There was a journalist awhile back who said RA had some good projects lined up, but she wasn’t at liberty to reveal details- I wonder if it will come out when the interview is published, or whether it was in answer to a question off the record that will remain unreported?
    I’m on record as a Poldark lover, so that notion is all fine by me!

    Reply
    • Wasn’t that about a month back? I would resume that it’ll be a scoop when she publishes the interview. I doubt Richard would reveal anything that was to stay off the record. He’s too media savvy for that.

      Reply
      • I don’t remember if she said that she knew or that he said he couldn’t tell her yet.

        Reply
        • Micra- did you see TORn has posted a transcript from the live event on their website?

          Reply
          • YEP! Saved as doc and put it in the folder with the video of the event, so I can understand what PJ says! Thank you for thinking of me🙂 Next move: waiting for Vlog with subs. An italian site uploaded the 10 AUJ vlog with subs, so I hope they will do the same.

          • That’s a great idea! I actually find that an Aussie and NZ accent takes a while to get use to. I kept thinking Sir PJ was using swear words, the way he rounded his words😉

          • For me it’s really hard to understand them, even Jed that talk more clearly than PJ is a bit too much for me. I can understand enough British people without accent, like RA, but not much more. So transcriptions are a real blessing😀

  4. I’m all for Poldark, and it would fit him being a little thinner. I noticed Lee Pace was a little chubby faced, too…still cute, though. Enjoyed every bit. Glad for every one’s bit on blogging.

    Reply
    • Lee Pace intrigues me. I don’t know much about him, I’ve only seen a a few episodes of Pushing Daises, but he fascinates me. Plus he make one hell of a snazzy elf king😉

      Reply
  5. I wonder if living in New York has subjected him intensely to the NY fitness standard for people in his social milieu …

    did not like Evangeline Lilly at all and wondering if writing about it just makes me look like a jerk, but it’s on my mind.

    Reply
    • No, that’s OK you didn’t like her, I can see how she could rub someone the wrong way😉 I guess she was outgoing, loud and overbearing, all the feature I guess I to some degree, posses LOL!
      The thing with Richard is he didn’t look like he had been hitting the gym hard, he just looked slender. Having said that, I’d have to have a *cough* detailed examination of Mr A to judge his muscle definition and fat %,

      Reply
      • It wasn’t that she was loud or overbearing! I’m a “strong woman” myself. I think I’m going to blog about it, actually. Then I’ll take the flak, such as there is.

        Reply
        • If it’s an honest opinion, then why wouldn’t you? I’d really enjoy reading your thoughts, especially that yesterday I changed my opinion of her. BTW, are we taking about the actress or the character in TH:DOS?

          Reply
          • the person I saw on stage last night (whoever that is — I don’t want to say that’s Evangeline Lilly, because who knows, maybe that was also a performance of sorts).

            I think it’s funny that I blog so little about women although I am one. I should probably ask Didion for a diagnosis.

      • oh, and by fitness, I’m sorry, I expressed that poorly. I didn’t mean to say I think he looked like a gym rat. It’s just — you know, I think of it as as the New York “look.” You see it on the street in midtown, and when people you know move to NYC suddenly they start aspiring to, and take on this, this very sleek body silhouette. I know part of it is walking everywhere, but I also think people become more shape conscious. Dieting could be part of that, e.g.

        Reply
  6. I felt the same way!! Ended very abruptly. I’m not complaining but… I did feel like it was awesome amazing incredible sex where I just missed the orgasm by being a minute late. :} And yes, he seemed more slender to me as well!! From the audience.😀 OMG. It was my first time seeing him in person… I’m still stuttering. And blushing.

    Reply
  7. The morning after describes it pretty well! At first I was a bit disappointed, as there were only greetings and introductions from various parts of the world and the screaming of the fans, which rang in my ears. But I found myself grinning like mad, really, during the new vlog and the trailer, and just seeing these new snippets was so worth staying up late! OMG the trailer. It’s amazing. Is it december yet?!

    Reply
    • Me too, didn’t expect t enjoy it so much! I was carried by a wave of enthusiasm that I shard with peeps on twitter and it was just this (almost) perfect moment! I think I’m ready for the onslaught of TH: DOS promotion😉

      Reply
  8. I actually like your hard-bitten sentence, as it puts together the whole dilemma: As always. Richard knows what’s going on, but he’s not telling!
    Kind of a motto for the last months (or years), Not exactly overly edifying, LOL!!

    Reply
  9. littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

    I felt the whole thing ended abruptly…and I was there, in the London audience.
    They shimmied the actors we had off stage just before the sneak peek at DoS. When it ended, that was it. The lights went up and we had to leave…by the time we had our coats on, someonewas there, asking (politely) for us to get a wriggle on.
    I wish we’d got to see more of Armi. They kept messing up the satellite feed – we had two of PJ in Wellington at one point, when it was supposed to be showing NY, LA, London and Wellington in each corner of the screen:-/ And when we need get NY full screen, it was mainly just that Anderson Cooper’s face. (No offence, AC, but you’re no Armi!)
    Niggling complaints aside, it was an awesome night, really good atmosphere. And Lee Pace was adorable. Again ^-^
    Xx

    Reply
  10. He said in the Esquire UK article that he’s looking for a TV series in the US.

    Reply

Have Your Say!

