RSS Feed

Time for some divine intervention for The Almighty Johnsons!

Posted on

AlmightyJohnsons2013

I’ve already written about the brilliant and quirky NZ series The Almighty Johnsons.

A few weeks ago the last episode of series 3 aired and now we wait to see if the powers that be give the green light for season 4.

Without going into detail, if the story ends with this last episode, fans of the Johnson guys will feel somewhat content.

Plots have been wrapped up, fan hearts broken, problems solved and issues resolved.

It truly was an Almighty Farewell!

998398598283529

However…

The writers left a tiny window of opportunity at the end which gives hope (courtesy of Colin/Loki).

I don’t want to spoil the plot, but there’s still plenty of potential madness and mayhem in store for our favourite Kiwi’s!

Here’s the thing:

If you have no idea what The Almighty Johnsons is all about, please check it out.

The episodes pop up on YT every so often, but seeing that the DVD of season 3 is out, you’ll have to search elsewhere.

You can also get the first season for under £10 on Amazon.co.uk.

tumblr_mu2ms4lzDX1rvwfwuo1_500

I feel like the series is TV’s best kept secret.

It might not be so well-known, although Dean O’Gorman’s appearance in The Hobbit sure helped spread the word, but most people who see it fall for the Kiwi Nordic gods.

I have no doubt that the TAJ fanbase will continue to grow, but by then it might be too late to save the show.

tumblr_mu6tzgkN0c1sgw3ojo1_500

We’ll be missing out on new gems, like the dwarf/Hobbit mentions with regard to Dean’s character Bragi🙂

It’s not only the fans that are concerned with the fate of the show.

The cast, which is apparently very closely knit are also rooting for season 4.

Emmett Skilton TAJ tweets

If you are already a fan, you can sign a petition HERE, which is one of ways we can express our  insistance interest in seeing a fourth season.

TAJ also has a FB page HERE.

a3

The show is definitely worth fighting for, so grab your swords, get hit by a lightening bolt, access your Nordic godly powers and let’s keep our fingers crossed!

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

21 responses »

  1. Currently I am working myself through series 1 (thanks to your recommandation some time ago) and most certainly I will get my greedy paws on series 2 as well. It’s really fun (although it gives me a hard time to understand the kiwi accent). As I have always been a big fan of nordic mystery the plot is right down my alley. The actors being extremly handsome doesn’t hurt either. Olaf is quite a treat for the eyes🙂 and Mr. O’Gorgeous of course….
    Not too sophisticated – but perfectly right for a relaxed evening lingering on the couch in comfy clothes.

    Reply
    • I agree, it’s the perfect balance of silly humour, hot men (Hello Grandpa Olaf!), and drama. I found myself easing into the accent, although I’m pretty sure I only got about 60% of the dialogue of the first couple of episodes first time around. It’s just such a great “guilty pleasure” that doesn’t kill your brain cells.
      I won’t even mention that I started looking up Nordic mythology😉

      Reply
      • Mystery?? Mythology of course! *stupidi.f.!! I really should start to use a dictionary. How weird is it to be a member of the good-taste-club but be unable to blurt my stuff out in a decent, grammatically correct way? Tztztz
        Thanks a lot for understanding my ranting anyway *lol😉

        Reply
  2. Sword at the ready. (Jacket removed … “I loved that jacket.”) Petition signed. 🙂

    It’s such a great show. Truly a best-kept secret that needs to be shared! (I’ve been doing my part with my non-Hobbit friends.😉 )

    It took hubby (whom I got hooked on it *insert evil grin here*) several episodes to get the hang of the accent, but he’s doing better with it. He really likes Grandpa, too. But I think it might be for different reasons than we do. *giggle*

    I hope when it finally gets to US TV (next year! *groan*) that they don’t censor it. TPTB have a tendency to do that if it isn’t on one of the big pay channels. Until then, the DVD is getting quite the workout!

    Reply
    • Yay, I knew you had great taste. I feel like TAJ is the Richard Armitage (pre-Hobbit) of TV shows. It’s brilliant but most people don’t know that yet, but when they do I can act all smug😉
      Talking of US and censorship, I’m watching Breaking Bad. How come the F**ks are bleeped out, but it’s OK to show cooking, selling and taking drugs? Oh Miss America, you are loca loca loca😉

      Reply
      • Why, thank you, sweetie! I keep good company. We’re all in the Excellent Taste Club. It’s such a terrific premise that the writers parlay into wonderful storylines. (And it has nothing to do with Mr. O’Gorgeous. Or any of the other hunky dudes. Nothing, nothing at all, I tell you. *giggle*)

        Good analogy!

        *shakes head* I have no idea, A. You’d think swearing (and nudity) would be a minor thing compared to drug use, but who knows what goes on in the heads of censors? I have yet to figure out the rhyme and reason to some of the stuff they bleep, blur and outright cut. Might be one of the reasons I watch so little network television.😉

        Loca? You bet. But sometimes, not quite the right kind of loca.😉

        Reply
  3. I’m up for more of the Johnson family, definitely, but only if they can keep up the quality of Season Three- I feel they really raised the level this time round. They’re such vivid characters, aren’t they?- hard to say goodbye to.

    Reply
    • My sister said the same thing, but things were hanging in the balance at the end of s 2 and yet they managed to create a follow-up season that rocked! I believe the writers and producer and there’s so much left to say. I hope they get a chance to explore new storylines in season 4🙂

      Reply
  4. Ten z prawej na ostatnim obrazku podoba mnie się😉

    Reply
  5. littlesallyboots (Hannah A)

    Okay, you’ve convinced me: I’m going to have to add this to my already crazy long list of programmes I want to watch but take an age to get round to watching! ;P
    Xx

    Reply
    • You just have to give it a try, get passed the first few episodes, get used to the accent and then it’s just really good TV. Dean/Bragi is so bloody cheeky in this one. It was probably a hoot for him to film, he gets away with so many things😉

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 100: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  7. Hi! I am stoked to learn the Johnsons have fans even in Poland, though it doesn’t surprise me. You show great taste! And the fact that you make the extra effort to understand the Kiwi accent shows great dedication🙂 I am Australian myself, married to a New Zealander, and thankfully we heard about the show through family. I’m amazed it isn’t more widely known here, I wouldn’t have thought Aussies were so scared of a bit of colourful language. Or wild hilarious sex scenes. Or violence. But it’s just so damn FUNNY!
    Have signed the petition and have high hopes; after all we brought the show back after cancellation last time! Oh, and love your blog!

    Reply

Have Your Say!

