RSS Feed

On chilling, being a slob and letting your mind go numb…

Posted on

RA dragon 3

Peeps have been asking me how I celebrated the end of my MA quest and seemed perplexed when I told them I spent the entire weekend laying on 20 % of the couch (my two Yorkies took the rest) in front of the fireplace at my country cottage watching season 2 of Glee.

What?

So what if I relax in pyjamas that also serve as day wear, a comb not even coming close to my hair, eating all different types of fried cheese (we experimented with camembert, Greek feta, and the string variety, all popped into a hot frying pan until it was either gooey, crispy or both…).

Don’t judge me.

mischa-richter-a-man-sits-in-an-armchair-watching-tv-thinking-mindless-entertainment-new-yorker-cartoon

That’s not the only mind-numbing viewing I needed in order to let all the stress go.

We also started on the UK X Factor season 10 last night.

I’m the perfect audience- I laugh when they want me too, cry like a ninny when they want me too, there’s no independent thought involved, no questions raised as to validity or value of this type of program.

Just good old mindless viewing, they provide the content, I provide my time and fruit fly attention.

mischa-richter-dog-next-to-man-watching-tv-thinks-i-find-it-increasingly-difficult-to-r-new-yorker-cartoon

 I’m not ashamed to talk about my guilty pleasures, even if  they prove I may well have abysmal taste in light entertainment.

I feel like I provide a good portion of intellectual stimuli to the little grey cells so I can dose them with the TV equivalent of an Amsterdam joint every now and again, numbing and dumbing down, but chillin’ man!

One may say that being involved in the RA community is also a guilty pleasure, something we do to take our minds off the outside world.

mischa-richter-four-drawings-cloud-above-man-s-head-indicates-that-he-s-thinking-cloud-new-yorker-cartoon

WRONG!

RAdmiring is a full-time profession, a labour of love, a commitment that you need a holiday away from because after a while is may run you down.

So what’s your guilty pleasure?

What food for not-so-much thought do you serve up when the old hat rack needs a break?

mischa-richter-stay-but-harv-there-s-a-great-wide-wonderful-world-out-there-waiting-new-yorker-cartoon

Cartoons by Mischa Richter.

By the way, talking of X Factor, if you haven’t heard of James Arthur, check him out.

We had a chance to see him live last year in London and he was amazeballs!

Here’s his version of Wrecking Ball which is actually a great song if you get rid of Miley with stringy spit running her tongue and private lady parts over metal objects.

And here is a compilation of his X Factor tracks:

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

19 responses »

  1. Fully understand your point of view and you are sooo right!
    Sometimes you just need to tune down to vegetable mode to rest your synapses. Otherwise you are in danger to loose your sanity.

    Today I would give my right arm up to my shoulder for a bit of numbness on my mind and peaceful, not too exciting entertainment. I came to work completely innocent and when switching on the pc I was overflodded by bedhead pictures and massive assaults against cats. Since then I am a total wreck and can‘t get one single thing straight off my desk. I am messing up completely.
    And no: I have no guilty pleasures. My life is a street of good behaviour, sober and levelminded decisions, no wasting of time, obedient and people pleasing, always look and care for others first.
    Just sometimes I am a bloody liar.

    Reply
    • LOL! Miss Fibber! I haven’t yet had a chance to analyse the picture, only a quick peek on my mobile, bloody stupid job! Don’t people understand that fangirling is a full time job and RL stuff like work is inconveniencing the process of adoration? How inconsiderate!

      Reply
  2. Guilty pleasure? Secret stashes of high quality chocolate not to be shared with SO or my small boys. Eaten in stolen moments! There are supposed to be chemicals in chocolate that simulate falling in love! Combine this with choice tv/films – Need I go on? (Boring admin – old comment ID *Astera*, now asteraurora).

    Reply
    • I don’t know why secret stash chocolate tastes the best. I actually really enjoy “cheating”, especially with food (not so much in relationships) as it gives me a forbidden fruit buzz😉

      Reply
  3. guilty pleasures other than Richarding? I like to watch endless episodes of “Bar Rescue” or “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives” while eating salty pretzels and chocolate M&Ms…

    Reply
    • Love it! The combination of good TV and naughty food is a winner :)BTW are these reality shows like Hell’s Kitchen or Kitchen Nightmares?

      Reply
      • “Bar Rescue” is a reality-type show that takes a failing bar and transforms it, teaching the owners how to run it correctly. the owners/Bartenders are always full of drama😉 and “DDD” is a food show where they spotlight little-known restaurants all around the US, that mostly specialize in sandwich/comfort foods🙂

        Reply
        • I freakin’ love those restaurant/bar makeover shows. I think it’s because the owners are so set I their ways that they think rotting raw chicken in the fringe is acceptable😉

          Reply
  4. Gummy bears…guilty, guilty…and sooooo bad for the ever-increasing hips. But sometimes a girl just needs something sweet in her life, right?

    Took a day off today to do some garden work. So far all I have done is surf the net and look out at sun and nasty, easterly wind. Don’t think I’ll do much more. Oh, and watch kitten cam.🙂

    Reply
    • That garden is nature and nature can take care of itself… internet surfing on the other hand…
      I love gummy bears, especially sour ones but it’s gelatine and ever since I stopped eating me I’ve been avoiding them😦

      Reply
  5. Guilty pleasures: HGTV (Property Brothers), and overindulgences in things I consume too much of anyway: sushi, beer, buttered popcorn, sexy fanfic. Long, long naps.

    I just got a copy of Infinite Jest and am hoping it turns into the time suck everyone says it is.

    Reply
    • I’m on a budget so I have to trade sushi for pizza unless I was a slob in Japan… a girl can dream😉

      Reply
    • Don’t like sushi, beer or buttered popcorn. Sexy fanfic when it’s well-written and the story around it makes sense. Unfortunately too many long naps lately.:( But I do like a sweet red wine, chicken and pineapple pizza and almost every kind of fruit.

      Oh and I can report that nothing else got done today. I took a nap and went back to surfing the net. Watched THE trailer and am now thinking about a walk with doggie.

      Reply
      • Luckily I don’t really like booze because I’d have a pyramid of empty wine bottles in my living room😉
        The trailer I interesting and there are some delicious Thorin scenes, but too elf focused for my taste. Not because I don’t like elves, I’m just dwarf greedy😉

        Reply
  6. Napisałam, że życzę Ci czasu do okazjonalnego pomarnowania czasu, Agzym. Cieszę się i to bardzo, choć ze zwykłym opóźnieniem, że szlafrokujesz/ szlafrokowałaś. Musi być równowaga, a właściwie przeciwwaga. Odreagowanie dla zdrowia i powrotu do pełnej, a nadszarpniętej formy tej ubranej i gotowej do wyjścia. Niezupełnie tak akurat z przysłowiowym pieskiem, bo Twoje same sobie przecież radzą, jak sądzę. Świat na pewno się nie zawali, jeśli Agzym, jako ta „Dafne w stroju niedbałem”, we własnym domu, na skromnym skrawku łona własnej kanapy posłucha sobie z przyjemnością i popatrzy, jak inni i zdolni ładnie pracują dla innego zasłużonego sukcesu. Podwójnie pożyteczny ten czas, AgzyM, skoro wspólny, jako sobie z przyjemnością przeczytałam.
    I co mi przychodzi do tej mojej bardzo lekkiej główki? To, że zaprawdę, zaprawdę powiadam… etc., etc. – człowiek jest szczęśliwy, gdy zaczyna doceniać każdą chwilę. Rozmawiasz więc tu też ze szczęśliwym człowiekiem, AgzyM, bez względu na brak rozczochrania. Szczęśliwi czasu przysłowiowo nie liczą, a nawet go sobie szczęśliwie nie żałują… Skojarzyłam teraz i natychmiast pewien niedawno obejrzany żart znanego rysownika. Na leżance u psychologa leży pacjent, który zwierza się specjaliście w tenże niepokojący deseń:
    – Prześladują mnie uporczywe, pogodne myśli…
    Mnie też akurat. Chcę, i jak sama widzisz, i ja cieszę się drobiazgami i możliwym spokojem. Można, nawet takim pomiędzy… Oczywiście obok psa, który jednak, na całe szczęście, nie wpycha mi się do łoża, bo przyzwyczajony jedynie do tzw. podłogi. Gdyby jednak porzucił tę wypracowaną zasadę, musiałabym ze względu na jego gabaryty waletować gdzieś zupełnie poza swoim „legowiskiem”. A jeśli już muszę, to jednak tu chcę. Z wielką psią mordziulą w garści zwieszanej bokiem. Kiedyś, w odczuciu 100 czy 200 lat temu, życie dosłownie przebiegałam w ogromnym pośpiechu, z gęsto zapisanym terminarzem w jednej i nieustannie dzwoniącym telefonem w drugiej ręce. Pewne rzeczy już definitywnie zrobiłam, wiele spraw poza mną i tylko parę przede mną. Poza sprawami wielka nadzieja i ekstremalnie sprawdzane w realu miłość i przyjaźń. Ta ostatnia, też w świecie, w którym się właśnie czytamy. O niej i do niej piszę w miejscu, które chronię i którego będę bronić przed głupotą stawiającą nam jakieś klatki. Taki ząb, dąb, przaśna zupa i cztery litery do przysłowiowego rymu.
    Obłożona kochaną klawiaturą, ale i książkami, gazetami – przynajmniej mam czas, żeby je przejrzeć w tymże „wolnym” czasie. Poza tym słucham, słucham i słucham, marząc na górze o eleganckim, cudnie zwalistym sztywniaku (z klapą i inną klawiaturą) na dole, do którego przez to mam utrudniony dostęp. Pomaga trochę internet i spora kolekcja płyt, gromadzona od wielu lat. Słucham w 99% muzyki innej niż polecasz, ale to przecież ważne w moim świecie, a zupełnie nieważne w Twoim. Jednak wspólny mianownik by się znalazł i znajduje. Niestety, bez czekolady.
    To tyle szczęścia, AgzyM, na dzisiaj. Chociaż… po cholerę ta Miley po wybujałym odlocie na kuli liże młota? Patrząc na nią skojarzyłam wg dawnego życia, że można być gołym, ale „trza być w butach na weselu” i że zima nadciąga… Prawdziwe Bronowice. Szkoda, bo zdolna. James Arthur też, choć obnaża to jedynie wokalnie. Oby jak najdłużej pokazywał tylko to, że potrafi śpiewać! „W zupełności całkiem wtenczas”, na zdrowie i do szczęścia to wystarczy.

    Reply
    • Ha ha ha !A to dobre Kofiko🙂 mam nadzieje ze Agzym nie sie nie obrazi za te moje odezwania do Ci. Przesyłam liczne całusy w nos dla twojego przystojniaka :* (mówie o psie,oczywiscie )

      Reply
  7. Chińskie zupki + niezliczone powtórki filmowych dzieł wszystkich powiązanych z Jane Austen.
    +przeciagłe wpatrywanie sie w paski kołyszące się na zgrabnych ,odzianych w czarna skórę biodrach Guya of Gizbourne. (jest pare takich gif-ów w sieci przy których moja głowa wykonuje taniec kobry;) )… Tak dla jasnosci ,tej ostatniej czynności nie zaliczam do grzesznych przyjemnosci🙂 hej! zrymowało mi sie !

    Reply

Have Your Say!

