RSS Feed

BBC’s Sherlock Fanfiction Recs

As I slave away at my thesis, here are some more reading recommendations.

I’ve mentioned my ever growing love for fanfiction on a number of occasions, and I have also recommended some to date, but here’s another batch.

I’m not sure why, but I tend to read ones that are connected to BBC’s Sherlock.

There’s just something about the relationship between the characters that lends itself so well to fanfiction, but please be warned, all of these have mature content.

Like many readers out there, I’m terribly greedy about the amount of words the fic has and, no surprises, I like a multi-chapter one that has a rich story.

Luckily many authors tend to spoil us readers, so here’s a bunch of my favorites.

I’ve already mentioned the first Shelock fic titled A Cure for Boredom by emmagrant01.

It’s Johnlock, meaning it follows the evolution of the relationship between Sherlock and John Watson, and the rating on this is explicit.

This fanfic is a wonderful example of fandom collaboration, as you are linked to art pertaining to the story.

Just when you thought you’d hit naughty fanfic jackpot, the author adds Alternate and Missing Scenes from “A Cure for Boredom”.

I guarantee you’ll never look at cinnamon the same way again.

Sticking to the Johnlock theme, I’d also recommend Performance in a Leading Role by Mad_Lori.

This is a AU story and the answer to what you would get if both Sherlock and John were movie actors starring in a film together.

It’s quite touching and worth a look.

If Johnlock isn’t your cup of tea, then maybe the next fics are more to your liking.

This Sherlolly (Sherlock and Molly) series titled Sustain was written by maybe_amanda, and is one of my favorites.

It comes in 4 parts:

Sustained (or Concerto for the Famished in D Minor)

Sustain II – Refrain

Sustain III: Obbligato

Sustain: Coda, Variation One

If you’ve never imagined Sherlock as a fool in love and a family man, maybe_amanda will make you eat your words.

I’ve left this story for last because it’s a bit of a heartbreaker.

Alone on the Water by Mad_Lori is possibly the best known Sherlock fic around.

I’m not saying anything more about this one, apart from the fact that it is touching, beautiful and very sad.

After reading it I suggest you check out this fanvid (ya know, just cos you won’t be sobbing enough…)

These are just the fics I find myself going back to (more times than I care to mention…).

There are also tumblr pages such as Highly Functioning Fangirls  or SherlockXJohnRecs who specialize in fanfic recs.

If there are any more you’d like to add, pop them in comments 😉

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

Have Your Say!

