RSS Feed

Who the heck do you think you are, Armitage Army???

FanstRA4 Banner big

Happy FanstRAvaganza 4!

Welcome to one of the best weeks of the year to be an Armitage Admirer (and let’s be honest, it’s not too shabby on any ol’ day…).

This year is extra special over here at IWantToBeAPinUp as there’ll be a post each and every day during FanstRA4 and to help me out I am so happy to announce that I shall be sharing this space with a special guest blogger LittleSallyBoots, who you may recognize from the Armitage community over at Twitter (@Sally_Boots).

Ms Boots will be posting on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.

This is how she describes herself:

So I’m a borrower/dwarf-sized English lass who likes to doodle and drink lots of
tea (it is the answer to life’s problems). I have lots of
obsessions *ahem* passions and aspirations, including, one fine
day, to stroke Richard Armitage (I am aiming high – quite literally for
me!).
I am muchly excited and a wee bit nervous to be blogging as a first time
blogger on Agzy’s wonderful blog this week ^^
Happy FanstRA4 everybody!

How adorable is she?!?

Please make sure you give her plenty of wonderful energy and support as she’s popping her blogging cherry this week and she’s doing it in style.

She’s whipping her blogging hair back and forth!

She’ll be spinning posts right round baby, right round!

Without your positive vibes, she can’t get no bloggin’ satisfaction!

Anyway, you get the idea…

Armitage Army small

Armitage Army, I’ve often wondered who the hell you are!

I mean, seriously, who do YOU think you are?

Armitage Army, RArmy, Armitage Admirers- a rose by any other name would smell as sweet!

You are my most favorite aspect of Richarding, and one that keeps me coming back, keeps me interested, keeps me connected.

I’m a big fat fangirling cheater, but I’m loyal to my RA peeps!

No offence to Richard and his breathtaking attributes, but the quality of fans (admirers, stalkers, craycray’s, whatever name works for you…) is one of his absolute best features.

If the fandom was represented by an Armitage body part, I swear it would be Lucas North’s bum in tight wet denim jeans!

Or Porter’s abs… or maybe that royal hooter stuck conveniently right in the middle of his face…or those runner’s thighs…

Oh, nevermind…

nosey fangirl

Knowing more about the absolute best part of Richard (as far as I can tell and eliminating the cardigans he’s been wearing and I’ve been drooling over) has always been on my mind since I met you, and I’ve decided to compile a bunch of polls to basically satisfy my, and perhaps your, curiosity.

Just so we’re clear, I think the RA fandom is better than the RA cardigans… just not by much…

Anyway, the thing is, the poll results will be hidden until the last day of FanstRA4 when I shall reveal them in my final post on Sunday, because I’m evil like that and believe in delayed gratification (yours that is. Mine? Not so much…)..

I had grand plans for this project, seeing it as a fandom equivalent of Alfred Kinsey’s report on sex, but reality has taken me down a peg or two, so let’s water it right down like a jug of Sangria on a hot July evening, and be happy with the little things in life, like a jug of watered down Sangria *hiccup* on a hot July evening.

The questions (with multi-choice answers, even when more than one makes no sense at all) are very run-of-the-mill, so bear your soul and help this nosey parker 🙂

So, without further ado, I’ll take geography for 200, Richard (works only in a reality where RA is the host of Jeopardy!).

Ok, that was easy (enough), so let’s move on to the ‘nails on the chalkboard’ one.

Reminds me, I need to unscrew the lightbulbs in my house and start hosting guests by candlelight…

How about your Armitage experience?

How many hot British cucumber sandwiches are you buttering (and cutting the crusts off) in that naughty brain of yours?

Richard had me at Hello!… well, at punching Hot Pipe Stevens while managing not to damage his pocket watch (a talent I greatly admire in a man…), but what about you?

I bet Richard is a marathon man (you can understand it whichever way you like, I certainly won’t be explaining myself…), but what about your admiration?

It’s not only who you admire, it’s where you do it, and I don’t mean in the shower or on the bus coming home from work, so mind. out. of. gutter please!

It’s also important how you do it.

After all, there’s the right way, the wrong way, and the Armitage way (or Norway, which also works…).

No, but REALLY, how do you do it?

Are there any other questions regarding the RArmy that you’d like answered?

Is there some kind of fandom question tickling the back of your brain or any other part of you?

If so, please leave your ideas in comments and I’ll do my best to include your ideas into the post 🙂

Let’s get the Armitage Army to spill the cotton!

Let’s get our secrets off John Porter’s chest!

Results will be revealed on Sunday.

Ps1. I still need more of your face/body parts for my FanstRA4 project, so please send them my way!

Ps2. This post was, in part, inspired by a wonderful BBC series Who Do You Think You Are? which I really enjoy watching and can only regret Richard never took part in as I’d love to peek at the ancestors who produced such a  fine specimen.

My favorite episode? Probably the Alan Cumming one.

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

52 responses »

  1. Some of the answers were awkward. I was born in North America, but I now live in Europe, and multiple answers didn’t work, so I’m “from” Europe. Richard didn’t have to steal my heart; I gave it to him gladly back in 2005 when I first saw N&S. Still, I kept quiet about it for years, until I retired. Even now, most people are unaware of my addiction to Richard, let alone that I’m an admin of a fan fiction site and a charter member of the Nottingham Servitors’ Guild, Local 69 Gisborne’s Wenches. As for age, another tricky question: I answered with my chronological age, but my true self, as I am in dreams, is ageless and yes, “sexy and I know it.”

    So for this Ardent Armitage Admirer, the poll questions didn’t quite fit, but I hope this assuages your curiosity just a tiny bit.

    Reply
    • Leigh, you are the International Lady of Mystery! Believe me, I know how tricky creating these questions were. We brainstormed different options and had to eliminate many for different reasons. I have no doubt that many (most actually) RA fans go beyond the choices offered. We are like Armitage loving snowflakes, each unique in our own way 🙂

      Reply
      • Agzy, I love the idea of being an Armitage loving snowflake!!! 🙂

        Reply
        • Thanks Linda Darling! And all those unique snowflakes make one huge beautiful Richard Armitage Fandom snowman LOL! And I’m not even going to mention what the snowman carrot stands for… 😉

          Reply
          • Yeah, you better not!! LOL. But as you bring it up…… maybe there are some striking ideas coming to mind…. 😛

        • Me, too — oh, to be the lift beneath his skis, speeding his thrilling and safe descent. (That’s why skiing feels so good, Richard. It’s all of us Armitage-loving snowflakes doing it for you.)

          Reply
  2. Great polls! Can’t wait to see the results.I had to check off multiple answers for how I go about enjoying RA. There are sooo many ways and all of them so goooood.!

    Reply
  3. What a great idea! Love a survey me. Cant wait to see the results on Sunday.

    Reply
  4. Love the polls. What a great idea. Can’t wait for the big reveal on Sunday! Armitage love FOREVER 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Who the heck do you think you are, Armitage Army??? | FanstRAvaganza

  6. It’s always a pleasure to take part in your projects… and waiting anxiously for FanstRAvaganza 4!!! 😉

    Reply
  7. Coucou Agzy ! Answered your polls and looking forward to your posts !

    Reply
  8. The results are going to be fascinating! 😀 Loved the questions and the in-between talk, they made me giggle. (Not to mention “Richarding”, what a brilliant word!)

    The funny thing is, with RA, I had seen “Cold Feet” ages ago, but didn’t remember RA in it at all, or any sort of “oooh he’s cute” or anything. If anything, he was the one messing up the other characters’ lives! I managed to get through two series of Robin Hood, thinking “yeah, Guy’s not ugly” but it wasn’t until series three where it went CLICK. When I caught bits of Spooks 7 on TV, my only response was “oh look, it’s Gisborne! …Meh, I prefer him in Robin Hood.” And then it just sort of went from there …

    Reply
  9. I didn’t think your polls were “awkward” but rather down right hilarious! Loved this post. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Nat! I was going for that awkward in a “puppy running and tripping over it’s own paws” but hopefully a bit funny post 😉 Could be worse I suppose. Could have gone for the ‘bull in a china shop’ angl, one that I usually favour LOL!

      Reply
  10. Love you pools, it’s great ! Can’t wait to see the results ! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Love the polls, Agzy! Can’t wait to see the results come Sunday. I had to click multiple answers for a few questions, which had me shaking my head at how big of a fangirl I’ve become. But I’m having fun and that’s the main thing! 🙂

    Reply
  12. I may not comment much, but love your posts. You so crazy, gurl.

    As an anti-fangurl, these polls were sooo HARD. Mmmm. And there was no ticky box for “he’s the bit on the side.” BTW, you did see the episode with David Tennant, right?

    Reply
    • I’m a shameless fangirl and I just can’t help it!
      Oh and I know all about that little somethin’ somethin’ on the side 😉 Richard sometimes get’s to be keynote speaker, but at other times he doesn’t even get an invite to the Adoring Fangirl Convention. It all depends on what I’m in the mood for 😉

      Reply
  13. littlesallyboots

    That was fun! 😉
    Phew for multiple choice – sometimes, one answer just doesn’t cover it!
    And “other” can cover a multitude of sins… I wonder what are these “other” Armitage admirering activities are…? Humm… 😉

    The beeb really should approach Mr Armitage for Who Do You Think You Are?!
    Plus I want to be nosey and see what his brother looks like, so he would have to go round his house to hug and “discuss the family”. That should be part of the deal.
    He should also be wearing some tight Lucas-esque jeans. RA, not his brother. Though for all I know his brother could pull that look off too! 😉

    Looking forward to the results!

    PS. Ta for my ‘lil intro. N’aww!
    *hugs*

    Xx

    Reply
    • Oh heck, I’ve given a lot of thought to Richard being a guest on that show, especially that I find it very moving.
      Never going to happen now of course 😦
      I’d love to hear about his mill ancestors and see him uncover family secrets, maybe see a tear or two rolling down his cheek. I guess now that Hollywood call it’ll be a while till we see Rich on British telly in something meaningful.

      Reply
      • littlesallyboots

        It is usually is really moving, all that’s uncovered.
        My mum always talks about Martin Freeman’s episode, and how he cried when he found out there was blindness in his family (or something like that, I forget). She thought he was so sweet and sensitive! Bless!
        Anyhoo – don’t give up hope for an RA appearance! Lots of “big names” have taken part in WDYTYA. The fact that ‘long legs Armi’ is getting more recognition might make the producer peeps all the more keen to nab him! And he might snap up the opportunity! It might just happen! COME ON!!
        😉
        Xx

        Reply
        • Dear me, I’ve never seen the Martin Freeman one! But at least now we know what I’ll be doing for the next 2 hours (meaning searching for it online and watching it…) instead of finishing tomorrow’s post LOL!

          Reply
          • There is a Martin Freeman one!!? Must find! If you find it first let me know where I can get it 🙂

          • littlesallyboots

            It was done about 3/4 years ago …maybe. Tis a good ‘un. Should be online somewhere… 🙂
            Hope all is well for Wednesday’s post. I am yet to finish Thursday’s…and am yet to decide on what to do for Saturday’s – ooh-urh!
            Still haven’t checked out all the FanstRA posts… I may not go to bed tonight! ;P
            Xx

          • Just finishing up the post for tomorrow and have no idea what to do for Friday. There’s always sitting on the copy machine xeroxing your bottom and then publishing those pics in a post titled “It’s a full moon after all” but I keep that as my emergency post idea LOL!

          • littlesallyboots

            HAHA! Well, at least you have a back-up plan! ;P
            Hopefully we will both be hit with the Armitage inspiration bug before it comes to that…ooh, if he was a bug, I imagine he’d be a pretty one. With stunning legs! And I’d let him bite me any day!
            Anyway… er…*runs away*
            Xx

          • Backside plan more like 😉

          • snorts. 🙂

          • littlesallyboots

            Oh, you! ;P

  14. That was a great poll. The results will be fun to see. Can’t wait 🙂

    Reply
  15. Great poll!

    Reply
  16. Thanks for this Agzym! 😀 Love the poll but didn’t realize I could choose more than one answer until way down the list! LOL! The comments are always a treat to read too! 😉

    Reply
  17. Done! I’m very curious results of this poll 🙂

    Reply
  18. ‘t was a pleasure 🙂

    Reply
  19. Voted! 🙂 Happy FanstRA4!

    Reply
  20. collarcitybrownstone

    I love polls; especially when the questions are about Richard Armitage. I look forward to the results.

    Reply
  21. Lots of Fun, Agyzm!
    Ha, Me, too Teuchter–on choosing only one answer until the bottom.
    And the the dry eyeballs really hit home. LOL!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    Reply
  22. This was fun! Lucky I could choose more than one answer, because I’ve got all the fanugurling options covered. Looking forward to the results! 😉

    Reply
  23. Voted and made my voice heard! I bet you will find your inner Nate Silver for an informed analysis of the results. 😉 Can’t wait to see them!

    Reply

Have Your Say!

