RSS Feed

The Hobbit is Coming, and I need Your Help!!!

Posted on

The Hobbit Fever, or I should rather call it Hot Dwarven Fever (thanks to Thorin and Kili) has taken over me, and I’ve been spending plenty of time trying to come up with fun and hopefully creative way to celebrate the opening of The Hobbit.

I’d like to publish a few posts that will give you some ideas on how to celebrate in an unusual or special way.

These will include a few designs you can use and a project or two described in detail.

As my DIY/ arts and crafts skills are very limited, I’m reaching out to my fabulous readers and fellow Richard Armitage Admirers for help.

I’m looking for friends who will write guest posts here at I WantToBeAPinUp describing the special activity they are undertaking.

I’m looking for people who bake to test or suggest Hobbit-inspired baked goods and are willing to write about the process.

I’m looking for people who are creating graphics for T-shirts, wallpapers, screen savers etc. who’d like to post them here, therefore making them available to other RA admirers to use free of charge.

I’m looking for people who are great at arts and crafts and/or DIY and are doing something special for The Hobbit release and would like to write about the experience here and inspire others.

If you’ve thought about posting something, but have never had the chance or could never be bothered, now’s a great opportunity 🙂

READING THE HOBBIT IN SEARCH FOR THORIN - PART III & A NEW TRAILER!

Please email me at iwanttobeapinup[at]wp.pl!

Let’s celebrate the release of The Hobbit in the best way possible!

In a way worthy of Thorin Oakenshield 🙂

Ps. If I don’t find wonderful people willing to cooperate on posts, I’ll have to do the arts and crafts and DIY stuff myself, and YOU’LL ALL BE SORRY when I post pictures of the end product…!!!

You have been warned 😉

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

17 responses »

  1. I bake, but “Hobbit-inspired”? It’s been decades since I did anything like that.

    Reply
    • I’ll email you with my ideas 🙂

      Reply
      • or won’t because I don’t have your email attached to your gravatar LOL! I’m looking for someone who woud like to try some Hobbit inspired baking and would be willing to document the process, have fun, inspire others etc. There are some adorable Hobbit cookies etc. and I’d really like to see someone interpret Thorin in cookie form etc.
        I’d love to do it, but I’m on a constant strict diet and can’t 🙂

        Reply
        • I bake for fun and for others to eat, rather than me. Actually, Judit has my e-mail, and I give her permission to share it with you, if you would like to write.

          Reply
          • Have you considered baking gingerbread cutouts and affixing little printed images of Thorin to them with “royal” icing (the stuff you use to stick gingerbread houses together)? If you used a chopstick or a skewer to make a hole in the top of each cookie before baking, then you could hang them on a Christmas tree.

          • Will do tomorrow,I left the laptop in the office for this evening! I can’t access my work outlook account from the smartphone.

          • I’l email you when Judit forwards you email, which I should actaully have, but can’t find. Baking for fun is exactly what I’m looking for for future posts 🙂

  2. Agzy my dear I wish I could help but I’m the most hopelessly uncreative person in the world!
    😦 Hope you’ll get plenty of great input from others though!

    Reply
  3. Well, I confess that I’m planning soooo many things…. I would like to write about it but I don’t know — my English is not so good 😛
      
    Here, the premiere is scheduled for December 25th, so I’ve planned to make a hobbit breakfast and then go to the movies with my mother, my sister and my 4 yeard old nephew.
    For us, I’m deciding between printed t-shirts or full cosplay (cute-female dwarves)… the child will be a hobbit. (the vest is already in process, hand sewing and all ….)

    I’m very interested in hearing your ideas – it cannot be that bad, the art has so many manifestations.

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply
    • Vec, please don’t let the feeling your English isn’t good enough to stop you! We can always tweak the language, so please don’t worry 😉 Maybe you can email me and I’ll have a further chance to try to convince you?

      Reply
  4. I have some Middle-earth jewelry projects in the works that I could possibly share if you like. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: O espírito de Yule « La Loba

  6. Pingback: The spirit of Yule « La Loba

Have Your Say!

