RSS Feed

Habits go up in Smoke on a Whining Wednesday

Posted on

Things have been hectic in my neck of the woods and I’m still going strong.

I’ve been exercising regularly and taking in nutritious food, which in turn has given me a huge boost of energy.

I think I’ll leave food and exercise for another Whining Wednesday🙂

I have some very interesting things happening.

I guess hell has officially frozen over as….

I’ve quit smoking!

Yup, ladies and gents, this girl has gone over to the other side.

People in RL will understand how odd this may be.

I grew up in a house where both parents smoked,  both indoors and in the car.

I started experimenting with cigs when I was about 13, then starting smoking seriously when I was about 17.

I’ve never been one of those people who downplayed the amount they went through.

Although I didn’t smoke indoors or in my car, I’d go through a packet a day.

During the summer, as I’d sit outdoors all day with a cup of coffee puffing away.

In January I came across a book by Allen Carr titled Easyway to Stop Smoking.

There must have been some thought behind seeking out the book and the time invested in reading it is the best I’ve spent in a long time.

For many years I wouldn’t feel any consequences of my addiction.

There’d always be enough dosh to buy them, I was always as healthy as an ox, I’d never had a smokers cough.

Smoking in social situations was generally accepted.

There was something magical about sitting at the bar having a nice vodka martini, pulling out a slim sexy cig from a cute cigarette case, like I did in my NY days.

Smoking would be something done after a pleasant activity, like a tasty dinner, with a good cup of coffee, during a 5 minute break at work etc.

When I turned 30 things started to change.

I’s have a dry throat all the time, I’d start smelling of smoke, and the environment started being quite hostile towards smokers.

Carr says there are two types of smokers:

Those who don’t quit because they know they can easily at any moment

and

Those who are too afraid to fail at quitting that they continue smoking.

I was shocked to realise that I belonged to the latter group.

I just couldn’t fail at yet another thing in life.

I felt like dealing with my weight should always take priority and I couldn’t imagine taking on yet another battle.

It was easier to not try than to fail.

Lucky Strike Cigarettes Thanksgiving Ad, 1950

There’s no magic or voodoo in Carr’s method.

His approach is very no-nonsense and makes you realise how the tobacco industry has turned smokers into dumb muppets who keep pouring their hard-earned cash into an industry that is doing everything to kill them.

He explores various myths and dissolutions about smoking.

He is against using any nicotine substitutes, and believe me, it’s lovely to quit without having to spend the equivalent of a packet of Vogue Menthol sin gum or electronic cigarettes.

Today I went to the supermarket and bought a few boxes of my favorite Clipper Tea, which is quite expensive, but I used my non-smoked money🙂

Bless the life of a non-smoker!

It certainly is cheaper!

All that I had read in January stuck with me, but I could never really think of the perfect moment to stop smoking.

I’d literally have a semi-panic attack (well, as much as I can actually have one…) if my cigarettes where running low and the shops where about to close.

One morning I had coffee with my sister, we puffed on a few sticks, then I told her she could take the rest as I wouldn’t be smoking anymore.

And that was how it went.

If you are a smoker or a loved one smokes, I recommend this book.

People swear that it’s a life-changer, and I have to agree.

You have nothing to lose by picking it up, and Carr encourages you to smoke while you read, so no need to panic.

How do I feel?

Like I’ve never smoked in my life, and this is no lie.

I feel like a non-smoker.

I fought with the odd impulse of reaching for a cig with my coffee, but this was a behavioral knee-jerk reaction.

I promise I’ll never become one of those pricks who give up smoking and give other smokers a hard time.

Like with any other addiction, we all need to make our own decisions, and bullying a smoker just to feel better about yourself is a low blow ex-smokers!

Old Chesterfield Cigarettes Ad

On a sad note, Allan Carr died of lung cancer a few years, probably as a result of the heavy smoking for so many years.

I suggest you watch BBC Horizon (I recommend any documentary from this series) titled We Love Cigarettes.

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

22 responses »

  1. Good for you! It’s not going to be easy, some days will be better than others.
    The thing is not to beat yourself up if you don’t succeed at first, it took me 3 attempts to give it up. Good luck ♥

    Reply
    • Thanks Mers, but to be honest if I felt it was a battle, I’d probably just give up right now from fear of failing. I don’t know if it’s a simply the case of being ready or maybe the book really does help, but there’s just no connection between me and smoking, apart from being a second-hand smoker🙂
      Thanks for the support🙂

      Reply
  2. Congratulations! I look back on quitting as one of the better things I did in my life, and I hope you will, too. I know it’s not easy, but hang in there and good luck!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations Agzym, tha’t a very good news and I’m happy for you that you have succeed with stop smoking.🙂

    Reply
  4. Congrats, A! I haven’t been a smoker, myself, but I’ve watched those I love struggle through quitting. You’re doing a great thing for yourself!!! *hug*

    Reply
    • Thanks Zan! It’s hard to watch others smoke knowing full well you can’t help them until they are ready. I would have head-butted anyone who dared to suggest they’d help me quit🙂 And then I’d go for a cig to calm my nerves😉

      Reply
  5. Congratulations, girl!!! Addiction is a big problem and I don’t think it’s easy to quit, so my fingers are crossed for your success!!😉

    Reply
  6. Congratulations!!! I’ve seen friends struggle with quitting, so I’m so pleased to hear it is going well for you!🙂

    Reply
  7. Gratuluję Agzym!🙂 nie palę już 14 lat a mój Marek 14 dni. Masz rację tego trzeba po prostu chcieć. Ja jako niepalaca nigdy nie potępiałam palących, nie wyganiałam gości ani męża na balkon czy korytarz i organicznie nie znoszę ludzi którzy tonem księdza proboszcza nauczają mnie co jest dla mnie dobre.

    Reply
    • Ja wszystkich, łącznie ze sobą wyganiałam na taras, więc jak będę kontynuowała ten zwyczaj to mam nadzieję że nie będzie to odebrane jako nauczanie palących mas😉 Gratuluję Tobie i Twojemu M. Jesteśmy debeściaki!

      Reply
  8. Fun to illustrate your anti-smoking post with these smoking ads, which I enjoyed reading. Esp. the Chesterfield gloves.

    I wish you all the strength you need to achieve the goal you want.

    Reply
  9. All the best wishes for your “non-smoker career”, Agzy. I’ll keep my fingers crossed! You’re currently really quite adventurous and highly courageous. Kudos!!
    I was never threatened to smoke myself but as someone who loved (and still do!) to go to concerts, going to clubs and bars for dancing and hanging out with friends excessively for about 25 years, that earned me a “healthy dose” of tar and nicotine as a passive smoker!! I’d always hated the smoke and had trouble with watery eyes and with asthma as I struggled so severely with hayfever for 30 years. By the time I stopped going out for dancing they came up with the non-smoking laws!! Ha! Ha! One of the RA-miracles is, that since I “met” this certain handsome guy about 2 years ago, I ever after stopped having any hayfever symptoms in spring. Isn’t that rich/great??

    Reply
    • Believe me, even as a smoker, I really couldn’t stand second-hand smoking and even now when someone smokes near me, it really isn’t a temptation. I agree with the non-smoking laws and think they really do make a difference!
      BTW Yes, I am adventurous, as it seems like the best moment to be so! In for a penny, in for a pound! It seemed silly to exercise, eat organic, take suplements etc. if I was commiting the fundamental crime!
      There’s still a list of things I’d like to do and I don’t want to slip in to my boing lazy ways again😉

      Reply
  10. Congratulations, Agzy! I’m so very happy for you! My brother-in-law managed to give up smoking years ago but my sister still smokes and her husband can sometimes be so smug about it and gives her a hard time for not being able to quit… But that’s not the right way to convince someone to quit. In fact, as you say Agzy, it has to be the person’s own decision! I remember my sister’s children used to hid her cigarettes from her but that didn’t help the cause either..

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Want to lose weight? Have a cigarette! « I Want to be a Pin Up

Have Your Say!

