RSS Feed

While The Hobbit’s away, the Boys will play!

Posted on

During their time off from The Hobbit my two favorite boys meaning Richard Armitage and Aidan Turner are busy with other projects.

We all know Mr A is busy being a hero in the face of a tornado.

Gary is a type of teacher that I’d like to learn a thing or two from 🙂

I’ve never wanted to be a teacher’s pet so bad!

Mr Turner is involved in a huge project of the fantasy adaptation of  The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones directed by Harald Zwart.

The movie will be out August 23rd, 2013 and it seems to rival Hunger Games.

He’ll be playing the character of Luke Garroway, the surrogate father to the protagonist Clary Fray played by Lily Collins.

Image taken from cityofbones.com.

One thing I know is that he’s sporting a bushy beard (that’s so hot right now…) and he seemed to have chopped off the lovely locks and has a shorter do that looks a bit like a weird afro.

Not passing judgement till I take a closer look.

Wouldn’t hurt if I could run my fingers through it, but I’m guessing security would knock me down 🙂

I believe he should keep his hair longer!

While you still have it, you should embrace it!

The book series already seems to have a huge following, although prior to the casting announcement I had never heard of it before.

I can’t lie, I read the first book in the series, meaning City of Bones, to see how big Aidan’s part is, and it’s quite impressive and exciting.

I have difficulty with recommending the book wholeheartedly.

This Young Adult Urban Fantasy is a bit naïve and predictable, and I felt the writing wasn’t the best, however the story is interesting, and I can’t wait to see how it’s interpreted on film.

There were moments where a twist in the plot was revealed and I could have sworn it was so obvious I thought every reader would take it as a given.

In some cases I thought the twist had already been introduced.

Then again I read lot of Agatha Christie, so I’m always spoiling plots 🙂

If you want something young and fluffy, this book will tick the boxes.

If you merely want to see Aidan prance around in glasses, wait patiently for the movie next year.

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

10 responses »

  1. Reading your post, all I can think is: if I had had a teacher like ‘Gary’, I would be in high school until today…. lol

    Reply
    • Hahaha Luciana, so true. I worry about Seba and his Lucas lookalike teacher! Firstly, how can you focus in class, secondly, why would you want to graduate? 🙂

      Reply
      • Well, I went back in time and remembered that I had a very handsome teacher at university… I remember that his class was usually crowded and we, female students, used to follow all his movements and you could hear many sighs from time to time… we just loved his classes, but it was very common not to remember what the class was about…lol. Luckly, I succeeded at the end of the semester!! 🙂

        Reply
  2. If there were a teacher like Gary, I’d want to be on the same faculty, and therefore not off limits, which I would be as a student. I can just see sitting in bed with him, trying to grade papers and getting deliciously distracted.

    Reply
    • LOL! That makes more sense! But then you’d know all of those young female students have a crush on your man. They probably dislike you for bagging him. It’s not easy dating such an attractive guy! Having said that, looking at Richard, I’d like to be given the chance 🙂

      Reply
  3. Dear me what’s THAT on Aidan’s head??? NEver heard of City of Bones I’m afraid! 🙂

    Reply
    • I know! I was wondering the same, although he should have one of those afro combs stuck in the fro 😉
      I had never heard of CoB before either, which is probably because we’re not teenagers who love vampires, magic and werewolves 😉

      Reply
      • But I do love vamps, or at least 1 vamp called Eric…

        Reply
        • A few days ago I was caught after sunset walking through the woods (long story).I was freaked out enough to start jogging first time since secondary school just t get home as fast as I could.
          The reason I was so scared is I’ve seen enough vampire/werewolf TV shows and movies to know bad things happen to silly women who find themselves aone in a dark wood 😉
          Knowing my luck, I wouldn’t get a Mitchell or Eric vampire either LOL!

          Reply

Have Your Say!

