RSS Feed

Love doesn’t cost a thing, but admiring Thorin doesn’t come cheap…

The time has come for the good folks behind The Hobbit to start digging in our pockets.

Good luck trying to squeeze a penny out of me, as all they’ll find in mine is a used-up tissue and some lint 😉

It’s been wonderful reading about all the purchases though!

Seba just received his The Hobbit Annual 2013.

It looks absolutely beautiful!

You can’t beat gorgeous images on high-quality glossy paper.

Check out the lovely pics he’s posted, like the one on top 🙂

A few days ago Servetus shared her thoughts on the WETA Thorin figure she’s bought, and it really is a thing of beauty!

It’s in three parts, and let me tell you, if you haven’t read it, you must make the time!

I was so moved, I didn’t dare leave a comment.

In Part One she shares her conflicting thoughts on the character, Part Two offers thoughts on the figure,  Part Three had me in tears.

Jas has listed Thorin items that you can purchase and urges you to crack open the piggy bank.

Some speak to me more than others, although the one I’d spend my money on isn’t (as of yet) on offer.

I’d love a Thorin Bobblehead!

Don’t ask me why, I just would.

It could just sit on my desk or by my bed, agreeing with me all day!

Thanks Jas for making my Thorin Bobblehead dream come true!

I was wondering what I will end up buying, apart from the DVD’s.

A poster is out of the question, as I wouldn’t actually hang it up, and I can’t afford the WETA figure.

The Gentle Giant Bust looks too scary, plus why get the Armitage as Thorin image if it’s not his whole body?

Yes, I do understand the concept of ‘the bust’, but what about those sexy dwarf thighs and bum?

And does he have to look like he’s driven that sword right through his foot?

Don’t get me wrong, it looks like it’s made beautifully, but perhaps not a must for a Richard Armitage fan.

I also have to bear in ming my other Hobbit crush meaning Aidan Turner who plays Kili.

Yeah, I’m going to give that a miss too…

Unless they’d let me pick n’ mix and I could get just the Thorin and Kili figure from this set:

Images from The Fwoosh

Apart from the WETA figure, nothing on offer has screamed at me as of yet.

I’ll get a Thorin mug made soon, and I’ll design a few T-shirts for the Hobbit premier, but as far as I can tell, that’s all for now.

Having said that, there’s probably tons of yummy Thorin Oakenshield merchandise ahead, so never say never!

Best start diving between the sofa cushions and saving up those pennies 🙂

What will you be getting?

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

20 responses »

  1. Nope. No Thorin figurine for me either. As I said over at TAE, I’ll get Thorin mug made! Or a nightshirt! Your Bobblehead Thorin is so funny though! You could stick him in a car instead of a bobbing head doggie. 🙂

    Reply
    • That bobblehead just does it for me 🙂 It was created by Jas and the people behind The Hobbit merch should give her a call!
      I’m getting a mug too, although I’m not sure what design I want! How great would that morning mug of coffee taste with Thorin looking back at you? A nightshirt is a whole different idea LOL! If I had the option I’d get Thorin flanel pyjama bottoms. They’ll probably have them, but for children though!

      Reply
      • Can you get the film that you can put through your printer to make an iron-on transfer? That would let you create your own pyjama bottoms.

        Reply
        • Not going to work I’m afraid as the iron-on image is quite stiff and washes off easily. I’ll just get 3 sets of kiddy jammies and sew them into one adult pair 😉

          Reply
          • A friend did something similar, cutting out the image from one garment and using it as an applique on a larger garment of similar fabric. The result looked great and withstood frequent washing.

  2. LOL re what you said about the Thorin bust! Completely agree! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Felicia Ontiveros

    I am hoping Lego, who has the rights, will make a Thorin keychain. I’d take him everywhere. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Perhaps a monopoly game
    http://www.bantertoys.com.au/products/Monopoly/monopoly-the-hobbit
    or the Hobbit 3D jigsaw
    http://www.jigsawpuzzleoutlet.co.uk/the-hobbit-3d.ir?cName=childrens-jigsaws-the-hobbit
    BTW I wonder if actors make money when their image is used in merchandising.

    Reply
    • I was thinking the same thing this morning Nadia (great minds…). Do actors get paid for their images to be used?
      Thanks for the links 🙂

      Reply
      • if their agents are on top of things, they do. I’ve been told repeatedly that the take from the merchandise on this project will be greater than the take from the film itself. I don’t know if he would get a per piece payment though — probably a lump sum or a percentage.

        Reply
  5. No merchandise for me. I really don’t care about these figures/objects. I’m only planning to spend my money with the movie theater ticket!!

    Reply
    • Ticket singular? I’m not even pretending it’ll be just the one 😉 I found out a couple of months ago that I can use my student ID to buy cheaper cinema tickets. Yet another benefit to getting a good eduction!

      Reply
      • Well, who knows what is going to happen after watching the movie?? Maybe I can go back and watch it two, three times… 🙂

        Reply
        • Oh, I think the first viewing will all be a big dwarf blur. It’ll take at least one more to actually notice anything else on-screen 😉
          I have to keep an eye out for Kili on top of Thorin, so I just know I’ll be going to the cinema at least 3 times!

          Reply
  6. “Can’t give you anything but love…” *singing in the shower, as if Thorin were listening*

    Reply
    • Well, if it’s Thorin you’re singing to, you best add that you want to give him all your love AND a pile of gold, because you know how greedy those dwarves are 😉

      Reply
  7. Thanks for the link love — I am humbled!

    I love the bobble head idea and would definitely get one of those.

    Reply
    • Let me get this straight. You wrote an amazing set of posts AND you’re humbled. One or the other please. If I’d written those posts I’d never let anyone forget it 😉

      Reply

Have Your Say!

