RSS Feed

Happy Armitage Day! Make Your Own Armitage Goodie!

Posted on

I’d like to start by saying a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who’s taken part in Operation Armitage!

Congrats to the winner from yeasterday’s competition!

Just a few words before I move on, though.

 First and foremost, Seba, from Gisborne’s Boy, my partner-in-crime!

You did a fab job, and it was such a fun process!

Thanks for sharing your talent with us, you’re a little creative ray of light 🙂

Thanks to my sister Magzy for her constant support, and for not looking at me funny when I get these ideas!

Thank You to the readers and people who commented!

Without you I’d just be an Armitage weirdo posting things online!

It’s the people who visit that breathe life into a blog!

Congrats to the winners!

I hope you enjoy your prize.

If you were not among the lucky ones, remember, you’re always a winner in my eyes!

Before I move on to the main topic of this post, I’d like to present an award.

This gift goes to my most loyal reader, as well as the person who’s left the most comments.

My special ” Friend to IWantTobeAPinUp” award goes to:

She’s long become a fixed feature over here, to the point where I really can’t imagine her not dropping by daily!

 This is my way of saying Thank You!

I have a confession to make.

Luciana was one of the winners during the week, however I knew I wanted to single her out individually at the end 🙂

Luciana, you get to choose an image out of the 8 featured during Operation Armitage, and a shopping bag with that picture will be sent to you.

Thank You to all my readers, I’m only sorry I don’t have the means to give each and every one of you a goodie.

So, I’ve settled for second best!

Seba created this stunning image, and I’ve decided to give everyone a chance to create their very own RA goodie!

I’ll be talking you through the process, based on pictures I took when I was creating the competition prizes!

Here is a step-by-step guide!

To transfer this image onto a T-shirt or bag, you will need:

A mirror reflection of the image you want.

This was a bit of a head-scratcher for Seba and me, until Magzy put us out of our misery.

In PSE, just go to Image, Rotate, Flip Horizontal!

A flat fabric surface, like a T-shirt

It’s important that it isn’t grainy or creased.

Iron-on paper for your printer

I got mine online, and an A4 sheet cost under Euro 0.50

I’ve tried different brands, and they are all the same.

What is important is to choose the paper based on the colour of fabric you are applying the image to.

There are 2 kinds I’ve encountered: for white / light and for black backgrounds.

Do yourself a favour and buy a few more than you need, just in case.

An iron, with the steam function switched off

Here’s the mirror reflection of Seba’s Hobbit Picnic:

First, print out your image on the iron-on paper.

Please set to the highest resolution on your printer.

It’s best to follow instructions, however let me give you some advice.

The paper has a blank side, and one that is patterned.

It’s important that you put the paper in the right way.

When you feed the paper in your printer, please check which side is printed on.

Do that by taking a regular blank page, putting a cross on the corner, and printing something tiny.

This will save you the bother of using up your cartridge on printing on the wrong side.

I’m not saying I’ve made that mistake before, but then I’m not saying I haven’t 😉

Let the printout dry.

In the meantime, iron the surface you will be applying the image on.

Let it cool.

Then place the printout in its designated place, and start ironing!

Start from the top and work your way down.

This will prevent any bubbling.

Depending on how large your image is, this can take a few seconds, or up to a few minutes.

Remember to iron the edges and corners well too!

With some brands the patterned side changes colour when the process is complete (check instructions), but ours didn’t, so we just played it by ear.

Let it cool down, and then remove the outer layer with one smooth motion, but be careful not to tear the edges.

There you have it!

It’s as easy as I LUV RA!

If you image is shiny, but you want a more matt finish, simply put a blank sheet of regular paper, and iron that on top of the image for a few seconds.

Remember that the image will fade in the wash, always wash inside out, in maximum 40 degrees, without spinning.

Do not iron the image.

Strong chemicals like bleach will also damage it.

I hope you’ve enjoyed Operation Armitage as much as I have!

It’s been a blast!

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

65 responses »

  1. What a great fanart, thanks a lot for this gift Sebastian and Agzym. 🙂

    I wish everyone a Happy Armitage Day. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pin up, I’m speechless!!! WOW
    As I have an appointment and need to go out in a few minutes I’ll come back later!! 😀

    Reply
  3. Nice one. Thanks for the competition. It was much fun, win or not.

    Reply
    • Thanks for taking part Guylty! I hope it won’t be the last of its kind 🙂 Especially with Hobbit right around the corner. Maybe Seba and I will think of something fun to celebrate!
      I’ve really enjoyed the answers to competition questions 🙂
      Happy Armitage Day!

      Reply
  4. Thank you so very much Agzy and Seba. It has been a wonderful and funny week !
    I’m twice happy today. It’s Richard Birthday and I won a bag !
    The instructions are very clear and I just have to buy a lot of T-Shirts and transfer paper !!!
    And thank you dear Richard for existing in our lives. Happy Armitage day to everyone !

    Reply
  5. You and Seba are both the best!!! Great idea for a wonderful week of amazing prizes!!
    Love that cartoon of Gizzy cutting his cake– and your instructions for making your own transfer -WOW!
    Happy Armitagemania Day!

    Reply
    • Thanks Phylly, it’s been a blast!
      BTW sorry for messing up comments on your post 😦 I hope you managed to do some damage control! Dunno what happened, and on Armitage Day! Oh, the shame!

      Reply
  6. OH WOW!!!! Thank you so much!!! *grinning from ear-to-ear* And delivered by Porter, no less … be still my heart! *melt*

    This has been so much fun! And not just because I won something … 😉

    Many thanks to GB and Agzym for all the hard work that went on behind the scenes to make this possible. And to all the folks who participated … it was a blast trying to come up with funny responses. I think we all just fed off each others’ energy. 🙂

    Happy Armitage Day! Indeed!!! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Super congrats to Luciana! 🙂

    Reply
    • I know, she’s been a friend to this blog since almost the very beginning! It’s a wonderful feeling to be able to tell her Thank You in a special way!

      Reply
  8. It was an amazing week, congratulations to the pair!

    Reply
  9. You’re welcome Agzy! Congrats to you and Seba for an entertaining week! After all is said and done it was a pleasure to work on this project with you! Good one guys!

    Reply
    • Thanks Sister Dearest! You know I couldn’t do it without you, as I cannot be trusted with an iron 😉 There’d be nothing but burnt strips of fabric up for grabs if it wasn’t for you!
      BTW, that’s Magzy’s sexy hands in the demo pics!
      And those nails are real, FYI!

      Reply
  10. Congratulations to Zan and Luciana! Thank you to Agzym and Seba for this wonderfully entertaining project! Thank you for the instructions too Agzym!
    Hope everyone is having a great Armitage Day!

    Reply
    • Thanks Judit, same to you! Thanks for taking part in the competition, and I hope you’ll maybe try making a bag of your own!

      Reply
      • Hmm… I don’t have a printer at home, not sure my boss will like it if I use the printer in the office for making Armitage goodies at work..

        Reply
        • You can always go to a printer / xero copy place. I usually do when I have something that will waste a lot of toner 😉 No, really, I do. They don’t care about how much they use, and the image is so much better. Best to go with your own iron-on paper, as they might not have any, though. It’s so doable!

          Reply
  11. This was a lot of fun and I looked forward to seeing the images every day! GB is *such* a talented artist. I’m sure someday museums will be looking to collect these cartoons.

    Reply
  12. Congrats Zan and Luciana!

    Another great image Gisby!!!

    Very good directions Agym…can I add a few suggestion? Make sure you iron on something hard, like a wood cutting board with a pillow case on top. And if you happen to have a cordless iron, it probably doesn’t get hot enough for this project! If your corners aren’t attached well when you’ve taken the backing paper off you can also put parchment paper on top and iron some more. (Can you tell I’ve had some disasters with iron on transfer paper in my past? ;))

    Reply
    • Thanks Jas for adding some very important points!
      That’s why it’s good to have a few spare sheets of iron on paper. I actually used an old mouldy ironing board, the day was so damp the paper curled on its way into the printer, and we were pressed for time. Luckily, the system is (almost) fool proof, so if people stick to the general guidelines, they should be fine. I really hope people try it! It’s so much fun 🙂

      Reply
  13. Thank you everyone for loving my cartoons. This has probably been one of the best weeks of my year, so far. I’ve been loving every second of it. Having the possibility to interact with you lot is an absolute pleasure. I am positive Agzy and I are going to collaborate some more, and I hope that our Armitage Family bond will be ever so strong at the next Armitage celebration (whatever it may be).

    Again, thank you for all the lovely compliments. I’ve been drawing cartoons since I was about 15 – but never at this level, and you guys make me want to do oh so many more. You all make it possible for me to continue, and I love you all for that.

    And Agzy, I love you so much!

    Thank you thank you thank you ♥

    Reply
    • In case you couldn’t tell, sweetie, we love you, too, very much! *hug*
      Thanks for brightening up our days with these amazing illustrations, your wonderful wit, and the glimpse of a promising future.

      ❤ right backatcha!

      Reply
    • Love you Bug! I’ll crack that creative whip over your head and hand with pleasure anytime! Getting to be even closer friends with you has been the absolute highlight of this wonderful week 🙂

      Reply
  14. Reblogged this on gisbornesboy and commented:
    Happy Armitage Day! Make Your Own Armitage Goodie!

    Reply
  15. It’s been a fun week! Thank you Agzy & GB!! Love the cartoons and the competition was a wonderful idea 🙂

    Reply
    • It really has been a hoot, thanks to the people who came by and left their answers. I mean, no one can read them with a straight face! Great job! Maybe the Lils’ and the RA cartoon characters will collaborate in future. Now, THAT would be something to see!

      Reply
  16. I did not join your contest but I just wanted to tell you that I really enjoyed the idea and of course reading all about the winners. Thank you and your partner in crime gisbornesboy for such a fun competition.

    Reply
  17. Thanks to you both for such a creative and fun week. I’m comment because I didn’t want win, but looked every day. Hope you both collaborate again!

    Reply
    • See, I think you would ace the answers to the competition questions 🙂
      Thanks Judi, I don’t think it’s the last one, and there’s already a cheeky little creative devil sitting on our shoulders, whispering interesting thoughts!

      Reply
  18. Hey, I’m in HEAVEN!!! I win a gift and can even choose the illustration. My choice is the one featured in the first day!! I have no words to thank you!!! 😀
    By the way, I’m glad you don’t consider a nuisance my visits and comments in your blog. I must confess I became addicted to it. Every morning, one of the first things I do is to check it and see if there is new posts, not only about Richard, but the ones about different topics!!!

    Reply
    • Last but not least, this was an amazing week. Thank you Pinup and Seba!! You did a wonderful job together!!

      Reply
    • Very good choice, the lambs + RA characters! It’s such a gentle image! I’m very happy you honoured my blog with your addiction, and you are very welcome to get your fix as often as you need 😉

      Reply
      • I don’t have any doubt my life became brighter after ‘discovering’ Richard and his amazing fandom!! 😀

        Reply
        • It’s crazy when I think about it! Last year at this time I was an avid lurker, here I am unleashing my RA-loving demon! I shudder to think what comes next year 😉
          BTW, I sent you an email, I hope you got it. If not, look for it in spam, as I like to hide there sometimes!

          Reply
  19. Thank you for your funny and very lovely colaboration!
    RA can be really proud of his creative fans!

    Reply
  20. Congratulations, Zan and Luciana!:)
    It was a great week,thank you very much for devoted time and talent Agzy,Sebastian and Meg.:) Happy Armitage Day to you all, RAbrothers and Rasisters!.:D

    Reply
  21. Congratulations Zan and Joanna for winning the final bags!
    Thank you Seba and Agzy for this amazing week. You two have done a formidable Operation Armitage, giving me a grinning face all day long. It’s been a real blast! Hilarious! Looking forward to more rubbish (word of the week!!) in the near future…. 😉

    Reply
    • Oh this should be Luciana, of course!!! 🙂

      Reply
    • I really believe something might be brewing in the near future, and we’ll be so excited and banging on about it weeks before, so no chance anyone will miss it.
      BTW, if anyone comes up with a kicka*se idea, and would like to go into partnership with Seba and I, please feel free to contact me. We’re always game for a bit of RA fun!

      Reply
  22. Pingback: Legenda 41: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  23. Pingback: Thorin Oakenshield Fashion Inspiration for The Hobbit Première « I Want to be a Pin Up

  24. Pingback: 80s Boombox Thorin on a Silly Sunday « I Want to be a Pin Up

  25. Pingback: 80s Boombox Thorin on a Silly Sunday « I Want to be a Pin Up

  26. Pingback: My own t-shirt design for The Hobbit l Gandalf, Bilbo, The Dwarves and Smaug | gisbornesboy

Have Your Say!

