RSS Feed

The most ‘British’ Armitage Character

I’m siting here, in my plastic Union Jack bowler hat and matching g-string undies, drinking a nice Earl Grey with milk from my Kate and William mug, and thinking which Richard Armitage character is most ‘British’.

This is a toughy, and I’ll tell you why.

It all depends on the criteria.

1. John Porter and Lucas North have both risked their life for Queen and country, which would make them the biggest patriots.

On the other hand, we have no indication of what their motives were when they chose their professions (I’m conveniently ignoring the whole Lucas/John aspect).

2. John Standring represents the farmer, who works hard to provide food for British masses.

No matter where you’re from, farming is a tough business.

It’s people like John that keeps that giant machine called Great Britain going.

3. John Thornton is a member of the new middle-class of successful manufacturers, who helped Britain become an economic power.

He’s the quintessential Victorian Gentleman.

5. Guy, just because I know you ladies like the scoundrel, and nothing says British like leather pants and a noose…

He looks like the type to wear boxer shorts that read: The Sheriff went to London, and all I got were these crap pants!

6. Look-wise Harry Kennedy  is the most ‘British’, with his striped jumper, corduroy trousers, and floppy hair.

His personality could be described as the stereotypical yummines we expect from a British lad.

He knows his Jane Austin films, and loves the British countriside.

Philip Turner could be put in the same category.

As I said, this is a tough one, so give me your choices for the most ‘British’ RA character!

Who is the most stereotypical?

Who embodies the best qualities associated with a British gentleman?

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

19 responses »

  1. Hmm… I’m gonna have to go with Mr. Thornton. If you just lined the characters up, he’s the one that would jump out at me as being most ‘British’ – easier, I guess because N&S is also a British period piece.

    Reply
    • That’s a very interesting thought, because by the standards of the south during Victorian times, he wouldn’t be seen as a gentleman at all. Margaret turned her nose up at him being ‘in trade’, offereing her his hand to shake, talking about his father’s sad fate etc.

      Reply
  2. John Porter, although JT is the epitome of an English gentleman, they are a bit of a dying breed in our modern society. That sign about being British is scarily true. I do try to buy British, but I do watch US tv shows on my Japanese TV lol.

    Reply
    • I like the Porter choice, but then if that was what the typical British man looked like, I’m moving to the UK 😉
      I think in the time of globalization, we all struggle to support the local industry. But eben products for a UK company mean a Made in China tag. It’s not a bad thing, although we are very unaware of how bad the conditions are in factories in Asia. I think we can draw a parallel between the Industrial Revolution in Britain and what’s happening now in places like China. I once had a lecture on the garment making industry. Frightening!

      Reply
  3. Agzym, this just popped across my facebook screen: since we are discussing all things British recently – perhaps you’d care to see some behind-the-scenes footage of a British drama school in the making, from Sir Ian McKellen’s “brother”, Murray? 😉

    https://www.facebook.com/murraymckellen

    Reply
    • That’s wonderful, thank very much Expat! 🙂

      Reply
      • I’m glad you enjoyed it!

        I was absolutely cracking up with that trailer – which featured both Gandalf and Radagast – in more bumbling, British guise – as hapless acting administrator / instructor. It seemed to go with this “British” post for humor.

        Reply
  4. I couldn’t say which one is more British. It is always very difficult to deal with stereotypes ( I don’t fit in anyone related to my country/people) Couldn’t we say that each character brings a different characteristic of the British culture? 😉

    Reply
  5. My heart says Mr Thornton, my first love !!!!

    Reply
  6. If I was going to be totally difficult I’d say “Monet!” and run away giggling like a loon. However, I’m going with Harry Kennedy. And that sign reminded me of this song by Brad Paisley.

    Reply
    • I LOVE the Monet choice. It’s perfect 🙂 They do speak English in The Impessionists, so it all makes sense LOL! Runner up is Harry for me too. There’s just something about an accountant, in glasses, living in a village, reading books and going to the pub, that seemes the most ‘British’. I’ll now proceed to try to watch the clip (internet connection permiting).

      Reply
  7. Bardzo lubię wybór Jazzy!:) ale zgadzm się z Twoim(Harry), od pewnego czasu uważam ze tylko anglik może dobrze wyglądać w takim swetrze lub rózowej czy żółtej koszuli.;)

    Reply
    • To pewnie dlatego tak ta nasza Richardson gustuje w Anglikach 😉 Ma babka gust! Niestety chyba niewielu takich Harry’ch pałęta się po brytyjskich ulicach LOL!

      Reply
      • W tym tonie wypowiada się moja Córka:)” Mamo, zapomnij po Londynie nie chodzą takie Richard-y Armitage-e”, porównała angielskich facetów do nocy listopadowej.
        Żyję nadzieją że nasi angielscy przyjaciele nie czytają po polsku, a gdyby nawet to moja Córka jest b.młoda i nie wie co dobre.;)

        Reply

Have Your Say!

