RSS Feed

Stanisław Wyspiański and Motherhood

Posted on

Doing a post on Gustav Klimt reminded me of another painter, whose work I adore.

Stanisław Wyspiański was a Polish playwright, painter and poet, as well as interior and furniture designer of the second half of the 19th and the first decade of the 20th century.

He was one of the most outstanding and multifaceted artists of his time in Europe, a modernist who used themes of Polish folklore and Romantic tradition in his works.

I find his painting quite intimate and very touching, especially those portraying motherhood and children.

This common theme is probably why I see a connection between Wyspiański and Klimt.

[Stanisław+Wyspiański+21.jpg]

[Stanisław+Wyspiański+4.bmp]

By the way, if you’d like to tackle the pronunciation of his name, here is the phonetic spelling  [staˈɲiswaf vɨˈspjaɲskʲi]

Just so you know, my first name and surname – soooo much more difficult to pronounce.

My name is a real tongue twister!

You can just call me PinUp, Iwanttobeapinup, or Agzy🙂

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

8 responses »

  1. And here I am trying to pronunce his name. I have the impression it’s not very difficult, but maybe I’m very mistaken… LOL. Hey, another very interesting artist!!! Thanks for sharing his work with us!!!

    Reply
    • I always say Polish sounds like white noice, like an untuned radio. Some mistake it for Russian, but our language is a lot harder, rougher.
      I’m glad you enjoyed Wyspiański. He just popped into my head, and let’s just say it’s my contribution to promoting Polish culture🙂

      Reply
      • I can’t say anything about Polish as I never heard it before, but I believe all foreign languages sound ‘strange’ at first, specially when we can’t recognize any word, which means most of them.😉 I remember when I visited Greece and also in May I had the opportunity to listen to Dutch and Flemish. Thanks God, Greeks, Dutches and Belgians usually speak English!!
        Anyway, I really love to know about other cultures, and your blog has been a excellent source for it!!

        Reply
        • Its true that English has become the international language, and you’ll find most people everywhere speak it, better or worse.
          The only exception I can think of is China. We were staying in a hotel in Shanghai, when all the electric wires blew up. I had to explain what had happened to 2 staff members who didn’t speak a word of English. It was very entertaining, and I think I did a good job miming, as we were (eventually) moved to a lovely room with a killer view🙂
          Once we moved, there was a knock on the door, a Chinese maid stormed in without a word, and took away the complimentary slippers they give out in hotels. It would seem the rate we paid for the room didn’t cover a pair of cheap Made in China slippers with the hotel logo on them LOL!

          Reply
          • Looking on the bright side, at least we can laugh later!!!😉

          • It was funny. And at least she didn’t storm in taking the towels and sheets. We spent half the night looking at Shanghai at night! An unforgetable memory🙂

  2. I always think Polish sounds much softer and sweeter than Russian.🙂

    Didn’t know this artist; thanks.

    Reply
    • I’m not a big fan of my mother tongue, but I think that’s because English is my first big (language) love. It’s not the best for songs, but poetry can sound very beautiful.

      Reply

Have Your Say!

