RSS Feed

Nitpicking The Armitage at Hobbit-Con

Andy Serkis and Richard Armitage - Warner Bros. Pictures And Legendary Pictures Preview - "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" - Comic-Con International 2012

It’s been a looooong wait, but I think everyone is satisfied with what’s been happening at Hobbit-Con!

 First piece of news: Richard Armitage has grown half an inch!

Maybe it’s something in the NZ water?

It’s the opposite to Tom Cruise who had to change the info on IMDB because he pulled out his shoe lifts.

All I’m saying is if my arse can grow almost overnight, so can Richard Armitage!

Second of all, the beard is here, so get used to it.

That begs the question whether it’ll be features in the new Tornado movie.

Wouldn’t that Fuzzy Goodness be a safety hazard?

If he shaves it off now, seeing that he’s been in the NZ and San Diego sun, won’t that make the skin around his mouth and on his cheeks really pale?

I’d love to be given the chance to investigate 🙂

In general, the all-together hairy appearance of Mr Armitage raised a few eyebrows on Twitter.

There were opinions that the beard could use a trim, the chest hair was visible, so was the neck hair.

Am I to understand that Richard will be getting a trip to the barber’s shop for his Birthday?

I’m a believe in’ less hair is more’ on a man, but this is no regular gentleman.

I’ll let a hairy neck pass 🙂

We saw Richard in his favoured black.

I think he looked great, but then I would.

I like the fact that the black shirt is casual, and channels a bit of the military style.

He looked very lean, probably caused by running around in the Thorin the Dwarf get-up.

What did they pad him with? Sandbags?

Maybe that’s a good way to get trim – go shoot a Peter Jackson movie in NZ.

It’ll be the new Hollywood diet 🙂

Under it we can see a black T-shirt, with the neckline a little lower to reveal some chest hair.

What intrigued me was the chain around his neck.

It literally made me want to scoop in there and see what’s at the end.

Luckily no one else did, for security reason. And common decency would dictate that is crossing the line.

I’m guessing it’s a souvenir from his time filming the Hobbit, and I think it should be his good-luck charm, because Our Boy Did Good yesterday!

Andy Serkis and Richard Armitage - Warner Bros. Pictures And Legendary Pictures Preview - "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" - Comic-Con International 2012

Hobbit-Con was the holy grail for many fans, although most didn’t get a chance to be there in person.

Once again, a HUGE thanks to everyone who took the time to relay what was happening, for uploading pictures and video footage.

We could live vicariously through you!

Andy Serkis and Richard Armitage - Warner Bros. Pictures And Legendary Pictures Preview - "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" - Comic-Con International 2012

Ps. Doesn’t it look like Richard is Sir Ian McKellen’s right hand man?

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

18 responses »

  1. I loved his masculine look at Comic con. My thoughts on what’s on that leather it is a NZ TIki.

    Reply
    • That’s one lucky tiki to be pressed against his chest! He looked all man at Comic-Con. It’s almost like he takes on a bit of the character every time he promotes a project. When it was Lucas North, he wore the character’s clother in interviews, with Porter he was very masuline.

      Reply
  2. Mersguy, a tiki would be the perfect memento of his time in NZ.

    Reply
  3. You’re so fast, but it doesn’t surprise me!!! What a lovely and mouth watering post!! I’m here, having my first coffee of day and “savouring” the pictures!!!
    His chain also called my attention and I was wondering if it wasn’t a “Koru” like the one I bought when I visited NZ!!! 😉
    By the way, nice to meet you Agzym!!!

    Reply
    • What’s a Koru? See, it would be so much easier if RA put is out of our misery and unbuttoned the shirt a little, so we could see 🙂
      I’ve been swimming in Hobbit-Con and Richard Armitage, and haven’t come up for air yet 🙂 It’s a lovely feeling!

      Reply
  4. A Ryś jak zwykle..przystojny , elokwentny,inteligentny-intrygujące(zabójcze) połączenie:D

    Reply
  5. I don’t know why, but I just love that beard.

    And like I told someone else, it’s not like that thing on top of Donald Trump’s head that looks like a kitten. I keep expecting that thing to start meowing and begging for milk.

    Reply
    • Hahahaha I love the Trump’s purring kitten. Surely with that amount of money, something better could be done!
      I’m OK with the beard because it’s on RA. If it dropped off, let’s just say I wouldn’t pick it up for him to reattach LOL It’s a niffty storage place too. Somewhere to keep the keys, ID, a light snack! Maybe a pen to sign autographs. Maybe that’s why he kept it for Hobbit-Con 🙂

      Reply
    • LOL, lovemrthornton! Thank you for this comment, really funny and very observational! 😀

      Reply
  6. I absolutely loved this post, PinUp! Thank you for making me smile!I was wondering about the necklace too, and my guess was also that he got it as a souvenir from the shoot. Better that than a tattoo. 😉 IMO!

    Reply
    • Thanks Judit 🙂 It was a bit of a stream of consciousness after Hobbit-Con. I’m just really happy the heavens opened up and gave us so many RA goodies to go through! ‘m not sure about a tattoo being a bad idea. He might actually convert us if he gets one some day. We’d rehash it, and analyze it to our heart’s content 🙂

      Reply
  7. Hobbiton Bound

    Being a bit of a Tolkien nerd and considering his comments on how Thorin will always be a part of him, I would tend to guess the chain is the chain Thorin wore and maybe Thror’s key is hanging from it (from Thorin’s grandfather and the key to the secret entrance to the Lonely Mountain) which he attached to the chain at the begining of the Hobbit and wore throughout.

    Reply

Have Your Say!

