RSS Feed

Polish Movie Posters

I have often heard it be said that Polish movie posters are some of the most acclaimed in the world.

I remember them freaking me out when I was younger, but I find merit in them and I can understand why they have such a huge fan base.

Just a word of clarification- most of these posters are quite a few years old.

Nowadays, the posters are unified and, I should imagine, the same around the world.

That means that, say,  The Hobbit will be promoted using the same images.

Here are some Polish posters promoting European and American films:

Breakfast At Tiffany’s

Fatal Attraction

Alphaville

Raging Bull

Return Of The Pink Panther

Gandhi

Enter The Dragon

Crocodile Dundee 2

M*A*S*H

Star Wars – The Empire Strikes Back

Alien

Terms Of Endearment

Terms Of Endearment

Christine

Gremlins

Eyes Wide Shut

Willow

Fanny And Alexander

Airplane 2: The Sequel

Weekend At Bernie’s

Weekend At Bernies

Apocalypse Now

Alle Images: WellMedicated

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

8 responses »

  1. These are great. Such powerful and witty graphic images! It’s a shame that movie posters have become so homogenized over the years. These are so much more memorable.

    Reply
    • I have to agree, although they can be a bit intense and scary. It’s interesting to see a different point of view, influenced by Polish history and mentality. Glad you enjoyed them 🙂

      Reply
  2. Posters have been an important part of the Polish culture; it has been a means of expression for over 120 years. It is said to be one of the greatest expressions of artistic talent. Poster art actually became a medium that was studied in university starting in the 1930s, isn’t that wild.

    I have always been fascinated by the use of these posters for political issues as well. Alas, the privatization and conglomeration of the movie industry have caused the movie posters of our time to be a bore.

    Here is a wonderful link about the history of poster art in Poland, and a plethora of posters to look upon, the ‘Birds’ poster is a bit freaky, I have to agree with you.

    http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/01/17/the-legacy-of-polish-poster-design/

    Thanks for such a lovely post; it makes me even more proud to be Polish at times like this.

    Reply
    • I know, me too, that’s why I like to write posts about important Polish people like Tamara Lempicka and Antoine aka Antoine 🙂 It’s my way of waving the flag.
      I’m writing my thesis on American Woman and propaganda posters during WWII in connection to fashion of that era. I may bounce them off Polish propaganda posters from the communistic era. There’s nothing quite like ‘stara dobra propaganda’! 🙂

      Reply
      • That is so great; I am working on dissertation ideas involving Polish and Scottish literature through historical connections. 🙂
        I am going to be glued to the TV this afternoon, for Euro 2012 Poland vs. Russia; I bet you will as well then.
        Niech zyje polska

        Reply
        • So it’s true that Polish women are very well educated 😉 I wil be watching Poland-Russia tonight on telly. My dad is actually at the stadium for the match, red&white scarf with POLSKA on it around his neck 😉 I’m proud of my city, they’re doing a very good job organising things here!

          Reply
  3. These are great. I used to visit a great shop in the Edinburgh Old Town (sadly no longer there) which sold old posters of Polish plays – part of the same tradition obviously, but all the same these have really brought back memories of flicking through them. My burning memory is of them all being rather dark!

    Bug @ STYLEoverSENSE

    Reply
    • Hello Bug, I used to work in a poster shop in NY and remember going through the vintage posters of European films- a thing of beauty. Nowadays I think they go for the most obvious image, one that will get bums on seats, rather than much artistic value.

      Reply

Have Your Say!

