RSS Feed

Gil Elvgren’s Real Woman In a Pin Up Girl Reality

Posted on

I while ago I wrote a posted a piece on how Pin-Up artists like Gil Elvgren were inspired by real women.

It was a case of: from photography to painting.

I adore watching how they reinterprit the features and give them a Pin-Up twist.

You can find the previous post HERE.

I have come across some more images I’d like to share with you:

elvgren-pin-ups5

Elvgren-claws_ref

Elvgren-coldfront1

Elvgren-janet_2

Elvgren-janet_3

Elvgren-righttouch

elvgren-pin-ups7

elvgren-pin-ups9

elvgren-pin-ups33

elvgren-pin-ups34

elvgren-pin-ups36

elvgren-pin-ups38

elvgren-pin-ups40

elvgren-pin-ups41

elvgren-pin-ups42

elvgren-pin-ups43

elvgren-pin-ups44

elvgren-pin-ups45

elvgren-pin-ups47

elvgren-pin-ups48

elvgren-pin-ups52

elvgren-pin-ups53

elvgren-pin-ups55

elvgren-pin-ups56

elvgren-pin-ups57

elvgren-pin-ups59

elvgren-pin-ups61

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

4 responses »

  1. lovemrthornton

    Confession time! I laughed so hard when I saw the pinup of the red graduation robe and the lingerie under it …. here’s a secret and now I’m putting it on a public blog …. When I graduated from college, it was this horrifically hot, humid day. Everyone wore new dresses under their graduation robes, but I knew that the auditorium (built in the late 1800s) had no A/C & it would be *murderous* and masochistic to sit in it with cap, gown & dress.

    So I wore exactly what that model is wearing — even the pinup nylons, because they were cooler. No one was the wiser, as I just kept that gown zipped through the whole ceremony …. And as I walked across the stage to get my diploma, it was one of the most powerful and sexy moments of my life, in essence, knowing I was grabbing that piece of paper in front of everyone, practically naked under that robe.

    Here I see this pinup girl, years later & think, “Hey, that wasn’t such a bad idea.”

    Thanks for the memories! 😀

    Reply
    • That is such a brilliant story! And what a memory to have, you pinup, you!!!
      I also have a stockings story, I went to work feeling sexy and empowered. Unfortunately the elastic weakened from throwing them in the washing machine and they ended uo slipping down all day. By the time I was walking home they were rolled down by my ankles 😉
      Not so sexy! I learned that day why people hand wash their delicates 😉

      Reply
  2. I recently did a post just like this, and I wasn’t able to find too many pictures like this! Great job, he seemed to use the same models for inspiration…. quite brilliant!!

    Reply
    • Thanks SJ, little gems like this can only really be found by accident 😉 I hope trhat by putting them here someone else will have an easier time when they look for them 😉

      Reply

Have Your Say!

