RSS Feed

Tamara Lempicka Art Deco Goddess

Posted on

Tamara Lempicka

Tamara de Lempicka

Tamara Łempicka

One of the most amazing artists of the twentieth century.

She is seen as the most important painter of the Art Deco period and she is seen as the first woman artist to be a glamour star.

It’s a big dream of mine to see her life story on the big screen (as long as Madonna keeps her designer mitts off the project).

She was a Polish aristocrat and I find delightful ;)

A few years ago I had the pleasure of seeing Lempicka’s paintings at the Royal Academy in London.

This was an amazing and unusual experience as most her work are in the hands of private collectors, who where kind enough to lend the artwork for the exhibition.

It was one of the highlights of my life!

This is my most favorite Lempicka portrait (and that’s saying a lot).

It shows the artists husband Tadeusz.

Notice the unfinished hand.

This was intentional as Taduesz asked for a divorce.

The hand not finished would have had his wedding ring on it.

Lempicka definitely had a flair for the dramatic and looking back, not completing the painting seems like a strange but original form of punishment.

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

19 responses »

  1. Fantastic paintings!!! Thanks for sharing them with us here!!!

    Reply
  2. I’m new to this artist and echo Luciana comments : thank you!

    Reply
  3. Snicker's Mom

    Thanks for sharing along with the insights. I love it when you do artistic commentary.

    Reply
  4. I knew some of her paintings but never knew her name, thanks for introducing such a brilliant painter to us🙂

    Reply
    • I have no problem spreading the word about Lempicka, she really was something else! I can’t watch the movie Frida without wishing someone would film Tamara’s life story. Oh, if only I had a few million $$$ to spare😉

      Reply
  5. Can’t believe I’d never heard of her. Love this stuff.

    Reply

Have Your Say!

