RSS Feed

I Love Books! Pin-Up Blonde

As you may know, I absolutely love reading 🙂

I have just read The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. As much as I enjoy James, this wouldn’t have been my first choice (I needed to read it for college for my American Gothic Literature lecture).

I am reading A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin.

I highly recommend it  😉

Are there any books you can recommend?

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

16 responses »

  1. Right now I’m reading “Clash of Kings”, so far really good…

    Hard to pick a book to recommend, but some of the most recent I’ve read: the Hugh Corbett Series by P.C. Doherty, or Pendergast novels by Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child…
    Also, the trilogy written by Santiago Posteguillo about the Punic Wars and Publius Cornelius Scipio (the only downside: I don’t know if the books have been published in English…)

    🙂

    Reply
    • Those sound really interesting. What genre are they?
      I adore Isabel Allende, but I don’t know Spanish and don’t like to read in my native tongue. I need to dig for the English translations.

      Reply
      • Hugo Corbett: Mistery. Historical-Medieval fiction.
        Pendergast: Thriller. Some science fiction.
        Both series are original publications in English.

        Believe it or not, I read in Spanish but (and I should be ashamed) I hardly read Hispanic authors… Of those I have read: “Love in the Time of Cholera” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and “Like Water for Chocolate” by Laura Esquivel .

        Reply
  2. I usually find it very difficult to recommend books. Lately I’ve been reading mainly Portuguese/Spanish speaking writers, but I try to read a bit of each genre and writers from all over the world. I’ll give you some writers’ names. Guess you can check in Wikipedia to see if some of them calls your attention.
    Mia Couto from Mozambique;
    José Saramago from Portugal;
    Merce Rodoreda from Spain;
    Haruki Murakami from Japan;
    Yasunari Kawabata from Japan;
    Bernhard Schlink from Germany;
    Nick Hornby from England.

    Reply
    • From your list I know Murakami and Hornby, both fine choices 🙂 I like recommending books and getting suggestions from others. When I’m at a loss as to what to read, I just check lists like 100 books you should read before you die or best books of the 20th century.
      There are books that everyone will like, I think. The Millenium trilogy by Stieg Larsson is a good example 🙂

      Reply
      • Indeed I’ve heard a lot about The Millenium trilogy… It’s an option for the future.
        From the list I gave you, the most ‘difficult’ and controversial writer is Saramago. It’s one of those cases of love or hate him!!! I confess I love him, but his books aren’t easy reading!!!

        Reply
        • I like a good challenge, so I will defiantely check Saramago out 😉

          Reply
          • If you like challenges, Saramago is the name for you! By the way, Bernhard Schlink wrote ‘The reader’, which was adapted If you like challenges, Saramago is the name for you! By the way, Bernhard Schlink wrote ‘The reader’, which was adapted for screen and gave an Oscar to Kate Winslet.

  3. Sorry for my last comment. I pressed the wrong button and part of the message was duplicated. Hope you understand it.

    Reply
    • I remember reading The Reader over 10 years ago and it just struck a cord with me. Usually I avoid the Holocaust issue in literature, being Polish and having read plenty on the topic at school. I find it quite upseting and it tends to stay with me for quite some time. But that book was amazing!

      Reply
      • I’m not trying to convince you to read BS (I don’t know if this could sound like that). This is just one last comment. Usually I also avoid the Holocaust issue in literature and movies. I just decided to read this book because I thought it had a different approach. I went on reading Schlink because his other books had totally different themes.

        Reply
  4. At the moment I’m recommending anything by Kate Atkinson; also David Mitchell, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet; A.S. Byatt, The Children’s Book; Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall.

    Reply

Have Your Say!

