RSS Feed

New Marilyn Monroe Photos from the set of “Niagra” 1953

Intimate: Trusted make-up artists Allan 'Whitey' Snyder took these charming shots of a 27-year-old Marilyn Monroe relaxing between takes

The previously unreleased photos of Marilyn Monroe were taken by Allan “Whitey” Snyder, who was her make-up artist.

 Apparently MM would ask him to take pictures of her to calm her nerves before filming.

Trusted: Allan Snyder's photos are remarkable for the obvious warmth of his relationship with Monroe and show none of the stage fright which she struggled with throughout her career

The following pictures, never before seen by the public, were taken on location while she filmed her first leading role for Niagara in 1953.

At ease: The remarkable pictures, taken by make-up artist Allan

Playful: Snyder spent hours coaxing and comforting Monroe as she prepared to film her scenes and managed to snap the intimate pictures

Stunning: The unseen photographs show a carefree Marilyn Monroe soaking up the sun on a beach between film takes

 

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

6 responses »

  1. I must confess I have never watched one of her films, but you’re making me curious about her career … As I love old films (including B&W ones), I’m planning to look for some ones.

    Reply
    • I really like to hear her sing. I think she had a beautiful voice. Her firms are characteristic for the period, so I can see they’re not everyone’s cup of tea. I think she’s amazing.
      I also recommend the film “My Week with Marilyn”, which was nominated for the Oscars this year 😉

      Reply
      • Well, I really enjoy watching films without all the technology we have today… I think you can appreciate the actor’s performance instead of all the effects created artificially (although I like this too). These films certainly have another rhythm and some people don’t like it.
        Anyway, films normally come to Brazil a bit late, compared to USA and Europe. “My week with Marilyn” hasn’t arrived here yet, but I will certainly watch it!!

        Reply
        • I remember a time when it was the same in my country. Nowadays, though, they are pretty good with release dates, especially that I like the excitement of a premier 😉 It felt good to see The Hunger Games at the same time as most people around the world 😉

          Reply
  2. She always bowls me over ..

    Reply

Have Your Say!

