RSS Feed

Banged Up Porter in Iraq Part 2

Posted on

Let me continue my thoughts on Strike Back episode 1

I have a confession to make.

Usually, I’m not that impressed with the ladies who are lucky enough to appear opposite RA.

 I admit, I can hardly be objective and everything else seems to disappear once he’s on screen.

 However, I feel like the ladies haven’t been up to par.

There, I’ve said it!

There are exceptions, of course,  like Ros Meyer from Spooks or Geraldine for The Vicar of Dibley.

I can add one more lady to the list.

I absolutely adore the chemistry between John Porter and Kate Dartmouth, played by Orla Brady.

Dartmouth is a British journalist who is kidnapped outside Basra, Iraq by the “Sword of Islam”.

In the Iraq episode Porter is sent to rescue her.

And boy, does he ever…

I adore the tenderness that Porter expresses towards her.

 He really does give her comfort and a bit of security in an extreme situation.

Katie seems to break down and cry for the first time, only when she is in the safety of Porter’s arms.

 I can relate to that.

When times are tough you feel strong, the moment someone takes control and shows you tenderness, you end up cracking and breaking down.

It’s like you don’t have the sole responsibility to keep things together anymore.

Whatever happens, you must trust metrust me!”

 ” Just so you know, I’m gonna kill every single one of these bastards…”

 On being rescued, after relying so much on Porter, trusting him and owing her life to him, she finds it hard to part with him.

Can’t blame her one bit…

And when all is said and done, lives saved, justice served (OK, not so much…), I adore the fact that he came to visit her in hospital with a bunch of flowers.

All images: RACentral 

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

18 responses »

  1. You know, I don’t think I’ll ever watch Strike Back (don’t like the genre), but after reading your passionate words describing the scene and character, I wish I wasn’t so stubborn about certain things…

    Reply
    • You really have to Luciana! I know what you mean about it not being your cup of tea. The first episode takes some time to get to the good stuff, but, as always, there are some RA acting gems. Not to mention Porter being an absolute sex demi-god😉

      Reply
      • You surprise me… I was expecting you to say something like ‘he being a GOD’… LOL
        Anyway… everybody seems to love JP!!!

        Reply
        • Gods are boring. It’s that combo of god and man that is sexy😉 Porter doesn’t have Lucas’ polish and education, isn’t as well read as Harry or talented as Claude, but he is, I dare say, one of the softerRA characters, but in the body of a well fit soldier. It all fits with Porter😉

          Reply
  2. I love JP!

    Reply
  3. Hi IWantToBeAPinUp,

    You gave me a good tip, Strike Back!
    Long time no watch! :0)

    Reply
  4. I couldn’t agree with your more. Orla was brilliant! As for that so called wife Diane, dont even get me started on her! LOL
    Take about make you melt, when he’s say’s ‘brave girl’ and she sleeps on his lap, OMG complete meltdown!!

    Reply
  5. I love JP and Katie. I always thought it was sad that we didn’t get to see Orla’s character again after the first two episodes. It seems like after experiencing something like what they go through together, that you would be bonded for life…even if it is just as friends.

    Reply

Have Your Say!

