RSS Feed

RA Transformation- Lucas North

The second character that went through both an emotional and physical transformation is Lucas North in Spooks. I won’t be focusing on the whole Lucas / John Bateman discussion. I found series 9 fascinating and I’ve always said that no other actor had a whole season to unravel and head towards his or her demise. The truth is many fabulous characters met their maker in the most ridiculous fashion, Ros being one of them. I really believe she deserved a better exit.

Spooks- Lucas North

Image: bccmee

North is introduced in series 7, as a former head of Section D, who returns after being captured and imprisoned during an operation in Russia, where he spent 8 years. He returns, damaged, to a new Section where he no longer fits. His loyalties are under question as he tries to regain his position and the trust of his coworkers. He struggles to be reinstated into MI5.

He seems to be divided between who he was prior to his incarceration and who he is on returning and struggles to adjust. The memories of his time in the Russian prison show how badly damaged he is. The scenes with Oleg Darshavin, his former interrogator, show how close he was to breaking and his suicide attempts after he developes Stockholm syndrome.

Lucas was often refered to as a Blake fan, with a chest tattoo resembling The Ancient of Days, a Blake watercolour painting. The other tattoos on his body tell a different story.

On his torso he has a tattoo which says: Gnothi seauton– Know yourself

Dum Spiro Spero– As long as I live, I hope

MNP– Peace

Omerta– Silence

On his arm, in Russian:  See nothing, hear nothing and say nothing to nobody

On his back: Cupolas, meaning domes, one for each year he spent in jail

Image: Allthingsrarmatige

Tormented by the ghosts of past events, Lucas has difficulty sleeping. It is interesting to watch this personal, intimate struggle.

Insomnia has never looked this good!

Image: Allthingsrarmatige

Image: Allthingsrarmatige

As Lucas catches his bearings and regaines Harry’s trust, his body gains muscle mass (oh, bless) and his style becomes more dapper.

Image: The Framewok Blog

RA’s character soon establishes a form of uniform: denim jeans and a black coat. What is interesting, his clothes are reflected by Ros’ outfits. Their characters seemed to have a lot in common and I always like the feeling of comradeship between them.

 All in all, I think the character of Lucas North is one of my most favorite character, rivalled only by John Thornton.


About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

6 responses »

  1. Lucas is my absolute favourite…I love him!

    Reply
  2. Have to confess, I didn’t have a lot invested in the Lucas character. I was only interested in him for his looks, LOL!

    Reply
    • Feel free to focus on the physical, front and back, side to side 😉 Plus after we learned about John Bateman you could tell everyone- Told you so! I knew there was something not quite right about Lucas! Maybe you can just sense a bad man?

      Reply
  3. I was a big fan of MI-5 before I ever knew RA was going to be on it. Having him starring in 3 seasons was the icing on the cake! I loved his character and was very upset with what happened to his character in his last season. But I have gotten over it now. I think he did a fabulous job with what he was given to work with. He was very believable even if the script wasn’t always!
    It was just more proof of what a great actor he is and is becoming.

    Reply
    • I agree! I watched the first 3 seasons, then they probably messed with the TV schedule and I stopped. I think I’m one of the few people who really like the season 9 shakedown. I love RA’s acting amd with so many twists and turns, I loved watching him falling to pieces. I’ve said it before- it speaks volumes about him as an actor that the writers trusted him with such a powerful ( and yes, sometimes silly) script 😉

      Reply

Have Your Say!

