RSS Feed

Richard’s Ordeal

Richard Armitage plays Philip Durrant in an adaptation of an Agatha Christie novel, “Ordeal by Innocence”.

This should have been the perfect merger of my two loves. I have been a huge Agatha Christie fan for years and have read and reread all her books. I must admit I also appreciate the BBC Miss Marple adaptations. As with many books and characters adapted for TV, the character of Philip Durrant has been changed. An officer in the Royal Air Force who fought in the Second World War, he contracts polio and is confined to a wheelchair, therefore becoming dependant on his wife and her family.

What I find funny is that Philip’s wife Mary is played by the singer Lisa Stansfield. Because, you know, she’s been around the world but she, she can’t find her baby… and ended up pushing RA around. Lucky Lisa.

Photobucket

 In the Chorion/ITV press pack for Miss Marple, series 3 (source Richard Armitage Online) he insists on a link between his family and Agatha Christie:

 “My mum used to play in Agatha Christie’s garden – she used to live in Wallingford as a child and that’s where Christie had a house,” he said. “My mum told me that she used to climb over the garden wall and play in her  garden. I’ve always got this image of my mum creeping up to the house and pressing her nose against the window and watching  Agatha Christie at her typewriter. Complete fabrication in my head  probably!”

Photobucket

I’m not going to do a What I Like list, that would take too long.

What I didn’t like was the fact that RA plays a supporting role. Do I ask too much to request RA’s character turns out to be the murderer?

Imagine that reveal.

 Granted, with have those moments of drunkenness and seduction, but it left me wanting more. As always, I liked seeing RA in a tux- do I ask too much to request RA to wear it everyday… nevermind…

Photobucket

All images: Richard Armitage Fan Blog
About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Handsy Philip Durrant « I Want to be a Pin-Up

  2. He got to practice his Heinz look for Captain America 🙂 can’t agree more : RA in a title role in a tux!!

    Reply

Have Your Say!

