RSS Feed

Let’s talk about sex, Mr. Armitage

All images: The Armitage Effect ( check it out, it is fast becoming one of my favorite blogs)

The Great Sperm Race

A wonderful 2009 documentary narrated by Richard Armitage for Channel 4

It charters the journey from conception to birth.

What I really liked about it (apart from the obvious) was the fact that sperm cells were scaled up to human size and are played by real people. This makes the experience quite dramatic. I dare you not to feel sorry for those sperm cells, which are destined to die a horrific death. We see the sperm and the egg scaled up by 34000 times and we learn about the obstacles and challenges the sperm overcome to reach the egg.

Not unlike a talented handsome actor getting his big break 😉

On a personal note, I must admit I did giggle like a  little girl every time RA mentioned a “naughty” body part and I dare you not to do the same. It’s hard not to blush 🙂

What more can an RA admirer want?

Here is part 1

You can find the other 7 parts on youtube 🙂

About Agzy The Ripper

Sew, Rip, Repeat... and love each moment of it! Join me as I embark on a myriad of sewing and crafting shenanigans.

10 responses »

  1. Oh yes! I’ve listened to the audio of this more than once! I would have seen it on YT already if the uploader had given mobile permission .. Trying to find it via the AppleTv! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh, you really should (she says blushing…). In all fairness it really is a fascinating documentary. What pushes it over the edge is the narration.
    I regret RA didn’t play the sperm cell that reached the egg. That would have been one for the CV- The Successful Sperm Cell 😉

    Reply
  3. I didn’t know it was available to watch on YouTube! Going to have to make a date with The Great Sperm Race.

    Reply
  4. I like the description, “A marvel of engineering in his trousers” or something along those lines. 😉 I suspect Mr. A recorded this with his tongue planted very firmly in his lovely cheek.

    I was looking at this earlier while my husband was in here watching TV with me and he said, very cheekily, “And I suppose there are thousands of women who would race to get his sperm?” I just laughed and said, “Well, we do want that genetic material to continue to populate the earth!: 😉

    Reply

Have Your Say!

