RSS Feed

Fifty Shades of Blushing Red

Posted on

As I’m enjoying my looooong May weekend (can I categorise 9 days as a weekend?), I decided to treat myself to a book that wasn’t connected to fashion, my thesis paper or looming end of year exams.

I don’t really know fanfic, I’ve read the odd story here and there, usually written my fellow RA bloggers ( Hello Ladies!).

I decided to take a peek at Fifty Shades Of Grey by EL James as it’s been causing quite a stir.

What was supposed to be a few hours of relaxing read turned into a 2 day reading marathon.

I was hooked!

Illustration for Fifty Shades of Grey

I’m not going to write a review of the book, many others online have done it very well.

I’d just like to skim over the issues that came to my mind when reading.

You may have heard that the books have a very strong S&M flavour.

This is true, but before you dismiss it, I think you should give it a try.

I’m not really one for whips, handcuffs and plugs that don’t exactly go in the drain or socket (I’ll let you guess where these go…), but the story really is captivating.

Does it get ridiculous at times?

Sure!

Some moments are hot, some are…well…not so much. At times it get a bit predictable.

I never though I would say this, but found myself wishing that instead of the pages upon pages of sex scenes, we’d get more insight into the characters.

And these I find quite fascinating.

I had heard that the story had started out as a Twilight fanfic.

As much as I do love the Twilights books and films (don’t judge me!), I really didn’t see Bella or Edward in the characters of Christian and Ana.

I really enjoyed the complexities of Mr. Christian Grey and couldn’t wait for his story to unfold.

I found him to be manipulative, mean and controlling.

But he’s also sexy, daring and sensitive.

I think it’s important to remember that the sex is (mostly) a medium to convey an array of emotions and issues that have little to do with the bedroom… or playroom…

So if you’re looking for some escapism and need to let your mind get away from the here and now, I definitely recommend this trilogy.

Is it the best book you’ll ever read?

No.

It won’t expand your vocabulary I was so sick and tired of the Oh my! Enough with that already!

It just gets really silly at times and it’s quite predictable.

But there are just days when indulging your inner goddess is what you deserve, and this will do it!

And if I’m wrong and you don’t like it, you can always spank me ;)

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Fifty Shades of Hotness Epidemic « I Want to be a Pin-Up

  2. My reaction to these books was very much the same as yours. They weren’t amazing literature by any stretch of the imagination, but I was still sucked in (It took me three days to read them). Could there have been more development of the characters? Absolutely! I also understand those who are disturbed by the nature of the main characters’ relationship. However, as far as escapism goes, these books worked for me.

    Reply
    • Now, would it be horrid if I said I am just re-reading them :) I’m on book 3. I have my favorite moments and to be honest, it’s not the full blown s&m ones. I adore the character of Grey and I really enjoy reading about his transformation. Sub Christian- need I say more. I think people should just give it a try and not be prejudiced because of what they think it is about- it’s so much more :) Can’t wait for the film, although it may end up being a bad rip off of 9 and a half weeks. Hope not!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Fifty Shades of Hotness Epidemic « I Want to be a Pin-Up

Have Your Say!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

