RSS Feed

Daily Archives: April 5, 2012

Make Do with Victory Rolls

Posted on

The time is slowly upon me!

My hair is growing out nicely and it seems soon I will be able to make one of my dreams come true.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Soon the time will come for…

Victory Rolls!

The terms originated  with a fighter-plane maneuver of the same  name that was used during World War II.

Women adopted this name for the popular  hairstyle when they were seeking a way to honor victorious soldiers.

Apparently during World War II, many women achieved this look by using pipe cleaners, since  the metal needed to manufacture bobby pins had to go to the war effort.

Love the 40s Make do approach!

We could learn a thing or two from them!

I am lead to believe that I shall receive hot rollers for my Name’s Day, therefore I am starting to practise.

Can I pull it off?

Well, the odds are against me.

I have totally straight hair, that doesn’t curl very well and flops quite quickly.

I’m not manually gifted and not very good with detailed stuff.

I’m not known for my patience.

The hair teasing freaks me out.

But, by george, I shall try ;)

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 820 other followers

