RSS Feed

Daily Archives: February 9, 2012

DIY Pin-Up

Posted on

 “If you want something said, ask a man; if you want something done, ask a woman.” ~ Margaret Thatcher

Caution! RA!

Posted on

Caution indeed!

I adore this photo shoot, perhaps because I really enjoyed the article from the Sunday Times article called “A Day in the Life,” featuring RA.

The article gives us a peek into an ordinary day for RA. Of course  I bet his days are different if he is now back on the set of The Hobbit.

BTW, do you wonder, like I do, if he’s back in NZ?

Image: C.S. Winchester

If so, I bet his days go something like this:

Got up in the  morning, spent hours in make-up while they attached the prosthetics to my near perfect feature, but not to worry, I still look hot.

Got dressed in my Thorin costume, wielded a sword, rode an oversized pony, yelled things in Dwarfish, pretended Gandalf is way taller than me, spent the lunch hour making the ladies of the crew swoon.

Then I fought some dragons, tried to reclaim some family jewels, while still pretending to be short…

I jest :)

Let’s go back to the photo shoot. I do like him in a blue suit. The colour suits him (dare I say even better than black?).

Here is a “denim” photo. I must admit that I think he fills  jeans like it’s nobody’s business…

Armitage goes North

Posted on

After listening to Georgette Heyer’s novels Sylvester and The Convenient Marriage, read by RA, I was a little adamant to tackle The Lords of the North. This Bernard Cornwell novel, part of the Saxon Stories, didn’t sound like anything I would be interested it. Third in the series, it is based in the 9th Century Anglo-Saxon kingdoms Wessex and Northumbria.

You see my point- Saxon, Danish, Vikings and battle, guts and such.

It turned out there were 2 things I didn’t take into account:

Bernard Cornwell weaves stories in such a wonderful picaresque manner, his sense of humour balances out the gore of battle.

Richard Armitage can read a story like no other and create a reality that is extremely appealing. As I have seen with his other audiobooks, he is able to create a multum of characters with hybrid accents, that perfectly fit the era. As always you end up forgetting all the characters are read by one man. Truth be told, it doesn’t seem read at all.

The combination is simply magical. I regret that RA recorded only one of the books of the series, however I shall have a clear image of Uhtred when I read the remaining. And what an attractive image it is!

Image: Allthingsarmitage

With 12 hours, do yourself a favour, grab Serpentbreath and get to it!

Image: Allthingsarmitage

The protagonist, Uhtred of Bebbanburg, makes his way back to his native Northumbria seeking revenge against his uncle Ælfric and childhood enemies Sven the One-Eyed and Kjartan the Cruel. He is upset because of King Alfred’s snub and wishes to cut all ties with him.

I know history buffs will be upset at me, but throughout the recording, I imagined Uhtred as a Saxon version Guy of Gisborne.

My imagination, my right :)

Ok, so there aren’t any bows and arrows, but you get the point…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 819 other followers

