RSS Feed

RA- why me? why he?

Posted on

Image by bccmee

March 12-18

This year I will be taking part in FanstRAvaganza as a tag-team blogger. If you are unfamiliar with this event, it is a chance for bloggers and admirers come together in an explosion of creativity in order to celebrate the wonder of RA and, in essence, us!

I must admit I am really excited about being a part of such an event and have been brainstorming ideas and bugging creative friends. I plan to use (and abuse) them for my own amusement, as well as my fellow FanstRAvaganza participants.

I am having some mini panic attacks from fear of not being able to come up with something entertaining for the event. I think this derives from the fact that since entering the world of RA I have encountered a ridiculous amount of incredibly witty, intelligent and well-educated Ladies, who have some of the funniest, most insightful blogs  ever! No pressure!

I raise my glass to you Ladies!

My first brush ( don’t I mean thunderbolt?) with RA came when a friend of mine gave me a collection of DVD’s with BBC costume dramas. I bow my head in shame and admit it was given to me in February and yet I didn’t watch it till the summer.

I lived in ignorance, believing that Mr Darcy, played by Colin Firth in the BBC Pride & Prejudice, was  the absolute costume drama hottie ever.

Oh how wrong I was.

I must admit that just as Margaret wasn’t impressed by Thornton beating up his employee, neither was I. I tutted that a gentleman would never do a thing like that.

Within 30 minutes I was frantically texting and ringing my friend, thanking him for the gift he had provided. Mr Darcy had been dethroned.

Mr Thornton had arrived.

Here are some little tidbits regarding me, North & South and RA:

1. After watching N&S the first time, I went straight to the beginning and rewatched it. Than I watched again the next day. Then the next.

2. I’m not a big fan of the final scene at the train station. I think it’s a bit out of character and I always think they didn’t really sit around on platforms making out in Victorian times. Perhaps if they did, they wouldn’t look so miserable.

3. I definitely prefer the Thornton Family to the Hale’s. Fanny is simply hilarious. I really like the energy between John and his mother. Why shouldn’t she be proud of her son? It reminds me of a saying: Women raise their sons to be their dream men. It seems that is just what Mrs Thornton did- she raised her son to be everything her husband wasn’t, and what a good job she did.

4. I find Higgins cute, in a teddy bear kind of way.

5. I always cry when Bessy dies and wish Margaret would have done the same ( cried, not died).

6. In the proposal scene RA’s face is partially covered by a shadow that distorts his features, which annoys me, because the man has perfect features.

Oh, and I want to punch Margaret for rejecting him so harshly.

7. I am always on the look out for the pig heads parked in front of the Hale residence. They did really want to get their money’s worth from that prop. LOVE the pig heads!

8. My sister refers to RA as “The Dude” and says he looks like Wolverine ( I presume she means Hugh Jackson). She can call him whatever she wants, as long as she calls him mine…

Having said that, she has watched N&S and Spooks 7-9 and enjoyed it. Mwahaha!

10. He can bring me a basket of fruit any day!

11. I am currently listening to Lords of the North audiobook. I admit I left it for last as I wasn’t that interested in the whole Saxon, Danish, Viking malarkey. Boy, was I wrong. I laugh, I cry, I tell random (uninterested) people about plot twists and witty banter.

12. I have never seen Robin Hood and RA playing Guy. I must admit every time it was on telly I switched it over as I didn’t fancy the actor playing Robin. I shall regret that till the end of my days ( or till I purchase the DVD set, whichever comes first).

There you have it! I am officially out as an RA admirer!

For more info regarding FanstRAvaganza click on pic below

Image by bccmee

About AgzyM

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons". A fangirl through and through, anglophile, and admirer of beauty whereever I can find it. I love books and art, and spend too much time admiring Richard Armitage and other amazing British actors.

13 responses »

  1. Lovely post! I really enjoy hearing about how others discovered RA. I saw the North & South DVD sitting on the shelf at my parents’ house for years and didn’t watch it because I thought it was about the Civil War in the United States (stupid, stupid me). Once I did watch it, Darcy was relegated to a very distant second place! I never noticed the pig head props, I know I’ll be looking for them next time I watch. And don’t think your alone with the mini-panic attack thing…every time I think about what I’m going to do for the event, I freeze up a bit! ;)

    Reply
    • I would love to see RA playing a Southener :) Thank you for your kind words, I am a blogging hatchling and quite conscious of that fact. That’s why lovely comments make me tingle! So thank you.

      Reply
  2. I watched The Vicar of Dibley first, quite by accident on Netflix. Then I had to find out who was that dishy guy! It was then I realized that North & South had been in my Netflix queue for ages and ages. It sounded too similar, and inferior to, Pride & Prejudice which I loved. However, the industrial revolution angle and John Thornton knocked P&P off its pedestal! Since then, I’ve been a rabid Richard Armitage fan. ♥ It’s been almost 3 years since I joined the fandom and there are no signs of waning.

    Reply
    • Shame on us! It’s like the universe was crying out to us. It’s like we were getting exactly what we needed, but ignored it. But I think we are making up for it now. The funny thing is I watched The Vicar of Dibley years ago, but didn’t buy the last DVD, I watched Spooks up to series 3, then stopped. I’m starting to see a “quitting” pattern :)
      BTW love the FanstRAvaganza banners- good job! Had difficulty choosing so decided to rotate them and present them all.

      Reply
  3. Hi there!

    Just can’t refrain myself from saying: You might not have seen RA’s some other work but not have seen Guy in action, is sin. Please remedy that *wink* (You are allowed to FF some other character’s parts, you won’t miss much, hehe)

    Cheers,

    OML :D

    Reply
    • True, I bow my head in shame, however I have to admit that thanks to fanvids and fanfic I have made my acquaintance with a certain leather clad hottie. The wrongs shall be righted, I promise ;)

      Reply
  4. What a wonderful and enjoyable post, I smiled while reading it until I came to your sisters reference regarding RA being like Wolverine in the looks department. Then all I could think was NO NO NO, there is no resemblance to Hugh Jackman and I will admit that I say that because I can not stand the man (Hugh Jackman) that is, but RA is more handsome than the other one will ever be.

    Reply
  5. I don’t see resemblance with Hugh either but will contend they would cast fabulous as brothers!! Like you I think Fanny HILARIOUS & adore feisty Mrs. Thornton. I don’t believe you need to like everything Mr. Armitage has been in. I’ve seen Robin Hood but indulged a LOT more in the glorious fanvids out there which feature Guy of Gisborne in so many better ways :) I happen to not get annoyed by goofy Robin Hood & his gang; particularly Much & Allan had Fun roles too. Congrats with your blog & good luck with your thesis!

    Reply
    • Thank You :) I love how they shield Fanny, as she was too young to really feel the hardship and she didn’t partake in the recovery of the Thornton name. I love it when she is playing the piano and singing really badly and Thornton looks up with an expression of: Give me strength :)
      By the way I do love the Guy fanvids and the steamy fanfic writing. Oh, and I actually had a Guy dream once. I shudder to think what will happen AFTER I watch Robin Hood ;)

      Reply
  6. I agree with so many of your North and South observations that now I will have to buy Lords of the North, too. I’d listened to an excerpt but really wondered if I wanted 10+ hours of Viking melodrama. But I guess if RA is narrating, I shouldn’t second-guess myself.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Coming up to my First RA Admiration Anniversary « I Want to be a Pin-Up

  8. Pingback: I have a dReAm…about a date with a cravat and a kiss « DistRActed musings of one ReAlity

Have Your Say!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 884 other followers

